Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books On My Spring 2014 TBR List

TopTenTuesday

Unbound InkIsThickerThanWater HouseofHades ScentofMagic Frostbite NightFilm BurnBright SavingFrancesca WinnersCurse WickedLittleSecrets

1. The Unbound (Victoria Schwab)

The Archived was a little bit of a surprise hit for me almost a year ago, so I’ve been patiently waiting for its sequel ever since. I haven’t heard much buzz about this book, so I don’t know exactly what to expect, but hopefully it’ll take all the things I liked about the first book without the slightly meandering beginning that turned me off initially.

2. Ink is Thicker Than Water (Amy Spalding)

The Reece Malcolm List was a real surprise hit for me very late last year. I expected it to be pretty enjoyable, but I was surprised by how much I liked it, and once I finished it, Amy Spalding’s second book went up on my “want right now” list. Unfortunately, none of my local libraries seem to have it, so I’m seriously thinking of going ahead and buying it, despite the fact that I haven’t read it. I’ve heard good things and liked her first book, so it sounds like it could be a safe bet, but I’ll wait a little longer to see if my libraries will take pity on me.

3. The House of Hades (Rick Riordan)

I didn’t try to read the fourth book in the Heroes of Olympus book as soon as it came out because I was sure it would have another mean cliffhanger to the last book and I didn’t want to have to wait a whole year to read it. Well, now roughly half a year later, I figure it’s pretty safe to read it soon, so I’ll keep my eye out for it.

4. Scent of Magic (Maria V. Snyder)

I really enjoyed the first book in this trilogy, Touch of Power (that was the name, right? Obviously been too longer since I read it…), but for some reason I didn’t immediately jump to the next book, even though it was out. Well, I might as well read it soon – Maria V. Snyder’s fantasy tends to be quite enjoyable for me, so it might be good if I’m in a tiny slump or something.

5. Frostbite (Richelle Mead)

Soon after I finished Vampire Academy, I went ahead and checked out the second book but didn’t get farther than the little prologue that was literally an info-dump of what happened in the first book. I had just read it, so I was pretty bored and decided to set it aside until I hadn’t read the first book so recently. Well, now these books are in high demand with the release of the movie and I’m stuck on a waiting list. Well, at least I won’t have just read the first book, right?

6. Night Film (Marisha Pessl)

I figure I should continue working on my Adult Fiction challenge, so I stuck this book in. It’s a mystery, if I remember correctly, and I heard some good things about it when it came out (last year?), so I hope it keeps me interested. Like I’ve said many times, Adult books take me a lot longer to read, so I need something that keeps me entertained for a while or will keep me turning the pages as quickly as Gone Girl did.

7. Burn Bright (Bethany Frenette)

A common theme of these books – Dark Star was a bit of a surprise hit last summer, so I was moderately excited for its sequel. Well, I’ve started hearing some really good buzz about it, so I’ve passed moderate and am just plain excited for this sequel. I think it’ll be a fun and entertaining read, and I just need those in my life right now.

8. Saving Francesca (Melina Marchetta)

You know that Recommendations thing on Goodreads? Well, I like going there and deleting any books I already know I wouldn’t be interested in and seeing what’s left. There are a lot of books that have been there the whole time, books I think I might be interested in but just don’t really know that much about. Saving Francesca is one of those books – the premise actually really interested me, but I hadn’t heard anything about it so I didn’t want to add it. Then I was having a minor, irrational freak-out last month that over half of the books on my to-read shelf were unreleased and that I was running out of books to read (yeah, because that’ll ever happen), so I decided that knowing little about it was a stupid reason to not give this book a shot. Plus, Melina Marchetta is one of those popular authors I highlighted earlier on Top Ten Tuesday since many people have read her books but I haven’t.

So, yeah, long explanation short, I thought this sounded interesting and now I want to read it.

9. The Winner’s Curse (Marie Rutkoski)

I remember hearing a lot of raving about this coverless debut last year (a whole year before it was released), but I mostly ignored it because it was so far away from being released. Then it got closer to its release date, more people began obsessing over it, and I got a free 5 chapter sampler for my Nook. I didn’t read the whole thing, just the first two chapters I think, but those two chapters were enough to make it clear that I would at least enjoy this book a little. So, despite all the scary hype, I’m excited for this debut.

10. Wicked Little Secrets (Kara Taylor)

I swear I read some books I disliked and ones that I expected to love and did last year, but Prep School Confidential was yet another surprise hit last year. It wasn’t perfect, but it was an interesting debut with a twisty mystery that left me wanting more. Despite that, though, I was pretty neutral toward this sequel – I would be happy when I got my hands on it, but I wasn’t counting down the days to the release date or anything. Well, now I’m starting to hear some buzz about it as well, so needless to say, I’m getting more excited.

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books On My Spring 2014 TBR List

  1. The Winner’s Curse sounds so good! Plus, it has a gorgeous cover.

    I actually read Saving Francesca a few years ago. I didn’t enjoy it, but contemporary is one of my least favorite genres. However, my best friend/co-blogger Julianne loved it!

    Did you like The Archived? I’ve heard about it and it sounds really interesting.

    1. Yeah, I’ve been hearing good things about it, and as long as all the hype doesn’t screw with me, I think it should be at least a fun read! And if not, then I can always just stare at the cover. 😀

      I hope I end up on the Julianne end of the spectrum then! I am a huge contemporary fan, so hopefully that works in my favour.

      I did like it – it started off kind of slow and there were times at the beginning where I didn’t really feel like reading it, but once it hit its stride I was very entertained. It’s definitely an interesting read!

    1. Thanks! I obviously haven’t read any of these either, but I hope by the time I come up with my Summer TBR List that I’ve read most, if not all, of them!

  2. I’m meeting Schwab tonight at a bookstore event. I haven’t heard much about Unbound either, and Archived as a surprise for me too. It was…oddly relaxing, the pace and topic. Felt like old-school literature but in the YA format. I’m hoping Unbound will be similar.

    My Spring TBR TTT

    1. Ooh, that should be interesting! I’ve never met an author in person – I don’t think I would be very calm and collected if I did. But yeah, something about The Archived just seemed different to me as well – it’s been almost a year since I read it, so I don’t remember it well enough to pinpoint an exact reason, but your reasoning sounds as good as anything!

  3. I need to catch up with the Heroes of Olympus series. Everyone I know who is loves it. I have Night Film and really need to read it – I adored her first book and this one looks even better. Happy reading this spring!

    1. I haven’t read anything by the author of Night Film, so this is going to be my introduction to her work! Hopefully it works out better than some of the recent adult books I’ve read.

Leave a Reply

