All the Books (85)

AlltheBooks

BOOKS I’M READING

RedPyramid OneOfThoseHideousBooksWhereTheMotherDies

Not too far into either of these books, but pretty good so far. I really like how much faster these verse books are to get through, though – definitely a perk in my mind.

BOOKS I’VE READ

TroubleWithFlirting HowZoeMadeHerDreamsMostlyComeTrue Cartwheel GhostsofAshburyHigh WhatMyMotherDoesntKnow WhatMyGirlfriendDoesntKnow

Wow, a lot of books! It helps that the last two are verse books, the third-to-last is one I’ve been reading for a few weeks and finally finished (although I did read the majority of it this week), and the fourth-to-last (really would be easier to just say the third, but whatever!) was a DNF that I only read a little of this week, but who cares, it looks like a ton! Anyway, nothing that really blew me away – other than the DNF everything was either a 3.5 or 4 stars, so simply enjoyable, not a possible new favorite or anything. After the amazing few weeks I’ve been having, it feels a bit like a let down.

BOOKS IN THE READING SHELF

ThroneofFire SerpantsShadow ToBePerfectlyHonest PerksofBeingaWallflower ProbabilityofMiracles

And this continues to shrink! Next weekend is the start of my spring break, finally, so expect this to grow again by next week.

NEW BOOKS IN THE TO-READ SHELF

EpicFail AndThenThereWereNone

Two very different books – one is another contemporary retelling of a Jane Austen book (Pride and Prejudiced, although I won’t hold that against it) and the other is an adult mystery from an author that’s about as well known as Jane Austen that I decided to include in an attempt to finally read some adult books that I actually can finish.

BOOK COVERS

LiesWeTellOurselves NotInTheScript

Hmm, not overly impressed with either. I like the whole yearbook, old-fashioned, includes a POC cover of the first book, but not as big a fan of the fonts and such. The second one is just too cutesy for me – also, it’s apparently part of a “series,” but with different authors and characters and all coming out this year. We’ll see if that is a bad sign or not – the fact that it’s about acting and Hollywood and such means that I’ll still check it out no matter what, because I just like those kinds of books!

2 thoughts on “All the Books (85)

  1. Well done for reading so much this week! I’ve dnf’d a book last week too, A Hole in my Heart, but I didn’t list i because I didn’t think that 40 odd pages of a 120 page book was really fair to list, but you’ve done really well. How are the Rick Riordan books? I know you like your Percy, so was just wondering if they stack up against it? There’s also nothing a few quick books to break up the heavy reading. Good on you Genevieve 😀

    1. Yeah, I have a lot of internal debate over whether I should include DNFs or not – I’d be lying if I didn’t say that I do it because it makes my stats look better, but I think the fact that I gave a book a chance, whether it was a chapter or two or over half of the book, normally seems like enough of a reason to include it. I do my best to go into a book with an open mind, so I expect it to at least get my attention a little. If I’m going to spend multiple days on a book, then I want it to be at least 3 stars – otherwise, it’s not the book for me, but I still feel like I can count it. I definitely understand why many people don’t count DNFs, but I think it’s a personal decision. Wow, sorry, long reply!

      I’m liking the Kane Chronicles so far, but not as much as Percy Jackson – they seem a little more juvenile, but that might be because I read the more juvenile Percy Jackson books when I was younger and actually in the age group, so now I overlook any juvenile-ness in those books because I know that I like the books.

      And, yes, it’s been so great having some quick books between these longer books. It helps motivate me in a way that an alright but super long book just doesn’t!

      Again, sorry for the super-long reply! Didn’t realize I had so much to say about all these things. 😀

Leave a Reply

