reReview: Pivot Point by Kasie West

ReReview

PivotPointOriginal Review

Other Books by Kasie West: The Distance Between Us

Genre: Mystery/Paranormal/Science Fiction

Reason for Rereading: in preparation for the sequel

Original Rating: 3.5/5

New Rating: 4 stars!

My Initial Thoughts

I first read this book last year, around the time it was released. I thought it was a pretty decent debut, but I wasn’t overly impressed. I enjoyed it and I moved on, and that was really all to it. As the year went on and I continued to be disappointed by other 2013 debuts, I started to question whether I really disliked it that much, and it ended up going on a Top 5 Debuts list, if I remember correctly. The hype over it as some people began to notice it also made me question my initial thoughts.

Why I Reread

With the release of Split Second approaching and my memory a little shaky on the final events in Pivot Point, I was already thinking of rereading this book, but when I saw that it was going to be free online for an entire weekend through Epic Reads last month, I knew that I just had to try and reread it all in one weekend. I wanted to remember everything before I read the sequel, but I also wanted to see if I still felt the same way about the book as I had on my original reading of it.

Why I Changed My Mind

When I first read Pivot Point, I remember not being a big fan of Addie and thinking that her friendship with Laila was the stereotypical loud-girl-and-shy-protagonist, but this time I really liked both Addie and Laila and their friendship. I think I might have been influenced by reading Kasie West’s debut contemporary, The Distance Between Us, near the end of last year, with its very snarky protagonist. Addie definitely has her snarky and blunt moments, and I can’t help but wonder why I didn’t notice that the first time.

I also really liked the romance, and I don’t remember feeling much about it either way the first time. I smiled at the adorable moments and cheered them on during the romantic scenes. I just felt more attached to these characters, while I don’t remember feeling quite that way the first time.

Even though I knew how it ended, I was still interested in the story a second time around. The characters were definitely the ones who really grew on me and changed my opinion about the book, but the fact that the story was still interesting without the element of surprise was another point in its favor.

Do I Regret Rereading?

Obviously not! I mean, I bumped the rating up to 4 stars, and there’s part of me that wants to push it up to 4.5 stars sometimes. Before I starting rereading it, I was a bit worried that I wouldn’t finish it before the weekend ended and it was pulled off the internet, but I started it on Friday night and was already done by Saturday night. So, it’s pretty safe to say that this was a fun and a bit fluffy book that made me smile and brightened my day. I’m definitely glad I reread it, and am seriously thinking about buying it so I can reread it whenever I’m in need of a cute, quick read.

4.5stars

WidgetGoodreads

5 thoughts on “reReview: Pivot Point by Kasie West

Leave a Reply

