New Reads (March and April 2014)

NewReads

Be prepared, because there are a lot of books coming out in March and April – hopefully that’ll cheer us up during the awkward time between winter and spring when the weather is generally just yucky and it’s a great time to read! And of course, these are just the books off of my to-read shelf coming out in March and April – there are even more books that other people are sure to love!

Gilded NightmareDilemma

Gilded by Christina Farley (March 1, 2014)

A book about non-Greek or -Roman deities that takes place in Korea? Definitely something that sounds new and exciting, and it’ll give me the chance to keep my end-of-the-year stats from being 99% white protagonists.

The Nightmare Dilemma by Mindee Arnett (March 4, 2014)

This is the sequel to last year’s fairly enjoyable The Nightmare Affair, so I’m fairly excited for it – another paranormal mystery sounds like a nice, quick, and fun read.

WickedLittleSecrets WinnersCurse

Wicked Little Secrets by Kara Taylor (March 4, 2014)

Another sequel to a debut mystery from last year, but this one takes place in the cutthroat world of real-life prep schools, rather than a paranormal boarding school. (Un)surprisingly, they can be just as scary.

The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski (March 4, 2014)

I remember hearing a little about this ages ago, and then all of the “Most Anticipated for 2014” lists started popping up and this was on just about every list, so I checked out the first two chapters and was pretty hooked. It’s a fantasy, as far as I can tell, and I’ve really been struggling with finding new fantasy and fantasy authors lately, so this is good news for me.

SideEffectsMayVary StrangeAndBeautifulSorrowsofAvaLavender

Side Effects May Vary by Julie Murphy (March 18, 2014)

This is a debut about a girl with leukemia who basically does whatever she wants because she’s going to die – and then finds out that she’s in remission, and has to deal with the consequences. It sounds interesting and I’ve been hearing early buzz for at least half a year, so that’s good.

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton (March 25, 2014)

I don’t get much (if any) magical realism in my literary diet, so this debut sounds like an interesting book to check out.

TheSummerIWasntMe LearningNotToDrown

The Summer I Wasn’t Me by Jessica Verdi (April 1, 2014)

A girl is forced to go to a camp to fix her broken sexuality (she’s gay), but instead she starts falling for a (female) counselor. It sounds like it’ll be sometimes difficult to read, but mostly a powerful story.

Learning Not to Drown by Anna Shinoda (April 1, 2014)

Despite the fact that I do want more normal, happy families, I still love reading about dysfunctional families, and that’s the heart of this debut.

TheLastForever LoveLetterstotheDead

The Last Forever by Deb Caletti (April 1, 2014)

Even though my quest to read my way through all of Deb Caletti’s books last year left me with some lackluster books, I’m still looking forward to her latest.

Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira (April 1, 2014)

This was my Most Anticipated Debut, and I still have yet to hear any bad things about it. *fingers crossed* I’m pretty sure it’s all letters, which isn’t always my thing, but knowing ahead of time definitely helps. And, I mean, just look at that cover! A cover that cool has to have a great story to match, right? Right?

VigilantePoetsofSelwynAcademy BreakfastServedAnytime

The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy by Kate Hattemer (April 8, 2014)

The title alone is pretty darn intriguing.

Breakfast Served Anytime by Sarah Combs (April 8, 2014)

A camp for the gifted and talented – sounds very interesting and pretty much guarantees lots of hijinks.

SeaofShadows MuseumofIntangibleThings

Sea of Shadows by Kelley Armstrong (April 8, 2014)

A new book by Kelley Armstrong, the author of The Darkest Powers and Darkness Rising! I don’t really need a reason to want this book, but it also sounds pretty interesting.

The Museum of Intangible Things by Wendy Wunder (April 10, 2014)

I was mostly interested in this book based on its cover (I mean, look at it!), but a summary that focuses on friendship gets my attention even more.

WhatIThoughtWasTrue PrisonerofNightandFog

What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick (April 15, 2014)

A NEW BOOK FROM THE AUTHOR OF MY LIFE NEXT DOOR! That’s pretty much all I need to know.

Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman (April 22, 2014)

A girl who has Adolf Hitler for an “uncle” and meets and starts falling for a Jewish boy? Sounds like something you don’t find in YA much, and definitely something I’d like to check out. Plus, I need to read some more historical books.

ToAlltheBoysIveLovedBefore

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han (April 22, 2014)

I’m not sure if this is the 15th or the 22nd, but the point is, it comes out this month and I want it even though I’ve never read any of Jenny Han’s other books. The cover and the title alone have me very excited for this book (and the summary definitely helps), along with most of the blogging community.

Leave a Reply

