Mini-Reviews: February

MiniReviews

CherryMoneyBabyThis book started out pretty well for me, but after a while I got kind of bored and just ended up DNFing.

The titular Cherry started off as an interesting protagonist, but she ended up grating on me. There seemed to be some early slut shaming and slightly crass humor, which just really isn’t my thing. I also didn’t care about most of the dramatic tension being set up, like Cherry’s new engagement (despite being in high school) and life in the lower working class while starting to gain access to the glamorous new world of the wealthy.

I tried to make it to about 100 pages, but after I realized that I really didn’t care all that much, I decided to part ways with this book before it started annoying me or something. So, there wasn’t really anything wrong with it, it just wasn’t the book for me.

2.5stars

TenThingsWeDidThis was a nice and fluffy book, a quick read between some longer books.

There didn’t seem to be that much plausibility to this story a good portion of the time, but as with the best fluffy books, I didn’t really care. I wanted to see what April and her friends could get away with, and I liked reading about their friendship and such. I was also happily surprised to see that April was Jewish and it was actually brought up more than once. Sure, it was very much a background detail, but the point isn’t to have a giant arrow pointing at her religion, it’s that it seems like a part of April rather than a list of details that are supposed to make her seem realistic.

Also props to its handling of first-time sex – a look at the options, a trip to the doctor, and some consequences that show that you should be careful (rather than saying “don’t have sex or you’ll die” like so many oh-so fun abstinence talks can sometimes do).

If you want a very realistic book that has you looking at serious issues, then really isn’t the book for you. If you want a fluffy book with plenty of funny moments and a bit of romance, then check this out.

3.5stars

Murder of Bindy MackenzieWell, it seems that the Ashbury/Brookfield series gets better and better with each book, which has me worried and a bit excited for the fourth and last one. But we’re not talking about the fourth book right now – we’re talking about Bindy Mackenzie’s adventures in the third book.

The book started out pretty well. Bindy is pretty much immediately an unlikeable character. She’s very smart, but she knows it and uses her intelligence to look down on other people. She’s a bit full of herself as a result, which seems like it would turn me off immediately, but I was actually interested to have an unlikeable protagonist. And, even luckier, she got much better as she falls apart.

If the whole book was like the first half or two-thirds or whatever, then this book probably would have been a solid 3.5 or 4 stars – pretty enjoyable but not perfect. But the last 100 pages or so – that’s what’ll make or break it for most people.

I personally thought it was hilarious and totally crazy. It came almost completely out of nowhere and made the book seem like it had left the ordinary contemporary genre, even though it was all technically plausible. I don’t think this is a spoiler, but just in case, be warned of the possibly spoiler-ish words ahead, which I’ll make white so that you have to highlight them to see (I’m not sure how to do spoiler tags on this blog, otherwise I would do that): let’s just say that the title and the summary aren’t being as melodramatic and over the top as I had originally thought.

Anyway, I thought the ending was great and I actually liked Bindy by the end, so I decided to go ahead and give it a lot of stars (4.5, on Goodreads) to indicate that it was very, very enjoyable despite – or really, because of – the craziness at the end.

4.5stars

One thought on “Mini-Reviews: February

Leave a Reply

