Things I Can’t Forget by Miranda Kenneally

ThingsICantForgetTitle: Things I Can’t Forget

Author: Miranda Kenneally (Catching Jordan & Stealing Parker)

Genre: Contemporary

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Pages: 320

Rating: 4/5

Kate has always been the good girl.  Too good, according to some people at school—although they have no idea the guilty secret she carries. But this summer, everything is different…

This summer she’s a counselor at Cumberland Creek summer camp, and she wants to put the past behind her. This summer Matt is back as a counselor too. He’s the first guy she ever kissed, and he’s gone from a geeky songwriter who loved The Hardy Boys to a buff lifeguard who loves to flirt–with her.

Kate used to think the world was black and white, right and wrong. Turns out, life isn’t that easy…

I’ve been surprised by the large number of religion-related books I’ve read this month, and Things I Can’t Forget has had the biggest, and most complex, look at it. I definitely didn’t always agree with the way Kate though, nor was she my favorite of Miranda Kenneally’s protagonists so far (that still belongs to Parker of Stealing Parker), but I enjoyed getting the chance to see religion and religious issues through someone actively being religious, whether other people like it or not.

Like I said, Kate wasn’t always my favorite. She’s very set in her ways, and that can mean that she’s judgmental, but I appreciated the fact that the story itself never tried to make us think that she wasn’t judgmental and that everything she said was true because she was narrating. There are probably a lot of people who will read this book and disagree with her, but I don’t think that takes away from the story too much, it just adds a different dimension.

I might not agree with Kate on many of her beliefs, but I think I was always on her side, in a way. Kate did something before the story began, something that completely went against her life-long beliefs, but she did it because she wanted to be there for her best friend. She continues to say it’s wrong after she did it, but I felt bad for her when people looked down on her for her beliefs. I might not agree with her on everything, but no matter what I believe, she was going completely against her beliefs because she cared so much about her best friend, and I think that’s both brave and heartbreaking for her, and for that I don’t think I could ever get too mad when she was freaking out in the aftermath.

I didn’t really care about the romance all that much. It was cute, there were some interesting scenes (especially with Kate coming to terms with her growing sexuality and her beliefs on the subject), and I didn’t not want them to be together, but I really didn’t care that much either way. It was a nice enough romance, but I just wasn’t all that invested in it.

Ultimately, I really liked this book for its look at religion and one’s beliefs and growing with those beliefs. Everything else was either alright or unimportant in my mind. So, if you avoid books with religious themes, this probably won’t be the book for you, but if you’re like me and are interested in see morally complex stories and religiously confused protagonists, then I definitely encourage you to check out this book.

4stars

AddGoodreads

2 thoughts on “Things I Can’t Forget by Miranda Kenneally

Leave a Reply

