Flip That Page’s Bookish Survey: Greek Mythology Style!

I’ve done a survey from Jasmine from Flip That Page in the past, and when I saw her latest involved Greek mythology, I knew I had to give it a shot. You should check out her original post to see her answers and such!

Gods of Olympus

Zeus/Jupiter (God of the Sky and Thunder/King of the Gods)

Favorite Book (Historical) I don’t really read that many historical books, so I thought it would be nice to highlight my favorite one of the ones that I have read: Out of the Easy. I’m going with strictly historical, no magical stuff, meaning nothing from Libbay Bray or the like. Anyway, I was pretty blown away by this book last year, from its vivid characters to its interesting and sometimes heartbreaking storylines.

Poseidon/Neptune (God of the Seas and Earthquakes)

Book That Drowned You in Feels The Book of Broken Hearts gave me a lot of different emotions, most of them heartbreaking ones like the hearts in the title. Just read my review (which is basically my favorite ever) to see more of the many emotions.

Hades/Pluto (God of the Underworld)

Favorite Book With an Dark/Ominous Plot Well, the world of Skulduggery Pleasant in general isn’t very… well, pleasant, and it gets darker with each book. I still love the books, but they’re definitely dark.

Hera/Juno (Goddess of Marriage and Family)

Cutest Fictional Couple I think the secondary characters (namely, his family) helps this couple’s case, but Samantha and Jace from My Life Next Door are pretty darn adorable on their own. I’m itching to reread this book!

Athena/Minerva (Goddess of Wisdom, Handicraft, and Strategic Warfare)

Series With the Best World-Building I’m going to have to go with Jasmine’s answer – Harry Potter is totally epic. J.K. Rowling’s world feels so real – there’s a reason so many people are convinced that their letters to Hogwarts simply got lost in the mail.

Aphrodite/Venus (Goddess of Love and Beauty)

Most Beautiful Cover on a 2014 Release

LoveLetterstotheDead

I don’t quite know what it is about this cover, but I just love it. The typograohy, the girl just floating in the air, the color scheme – the moment I saw the cover, I knew I had to check it out and see what it was about.

Ares/Mars (God of War and Bloodshed)

Most Violent Book You’ve Ever Read It’s not just violent, it’s terrifying: Anna Dressed in Blood. Seriously, don’t read it if you’re squeamish or anything like that.

Hephaestus/Vulcan (God of Blacksmiths and Fire)

Scorching Hot Swoonworthy Character I don’t know, I’m not really the type of person always talking about how swoonworthy a character is. I think I’m going to go with Cricket from Lola and the Boy Next Door because we need more nerdy, cute guys.

Artemis/Diana (Goddess of the Hunt and Virginity)

Favorite Kick-Ass Heroine Hmm, in order not to repeat (Skulduggery Pleasant has plenty of kickass people), I’m going to go with a slightly off-beat choice: Chloe from The Summoning, et al. She’s a tiny little girl with some freaky powers and I think she makes the most of them, doing her best to save the world along with the powerful werewolves and such.

Phoebus Apollo/Apollo (God of Light and Healing)

Sequel That Redeemed Its Series I was pretty disappointed by Across the Universe, and then A Million Suns kind of blew me away and definitely redeemed the series for me (and then Shades of Earth crushed me all over again, but that’s not the point).

Hermes/Mercury (Messenger God of Thieves and Commerce)

Book With the Best Message I really liked the message of 13 Reasons Why – think about your actions, because the littlest things you do can affect people in a larger way than you would ever expect.

Hestia/Vesta (Goddess of the Hearth and Home)

Book With the Most Relatable Story 45 Pounds (More or Less) could also work with the previous one – a larger protagonist just trying to be comfortable in her own skin is a very relatable protagonist and story. It packs a powerful and great story.

Demeter/Ceres (Goddess of Fertility and Agriculture)

Favorite Bookish Setting Hmm, something that isn’t Harry Potter… I think I’m going to go with the Sunset Towers in The Westing Game. Sure, I wouldn’t want to be scared for my life, but I wouldn’t mind hanging out with all the interesting characters in this book.

Dionysus/Bacchus (God of Wine and Celebration)

2014/2015 Release You Are Most Anticipating I’m just going to go with my top favorite books I’m anticipating for this year and let the covers do their explaining for them:

WhatIThoughtWasTrue LairofDreams OntheFence SeaofShadows IslaandtheHappyEverAfter

Heroes of Olympus

Percy Jackson (a brave, spirited natural leader with a sarcastic sense of humor, and a will to save friends and enemies alike)

Favorite Protagonist Oh God, how not to repeat. OK, I amazingly haven’t used Ruby of The Boyfriend List yet! So, yeah, she’s my choice for obvious reasons, if you’ve been on my blog in the past couple of years and have seen all my gushing.

Annabeth Chase (intellectual genius with a strong mind, brave heart, and a love for architecture)

Series/Book With the Cleverest Plot Really starting to run out of ideas… Hmm, I don’t know if this’ll fit with the whole “clever” thing exactly, but The Mockingbirds was a pretty interesting look at date rape and such, and I do think it was clever in its look at this issue.

Jason Grace (has a moderate sense of humor, but a strong sense of honor, justice, and compassion, often described as perfect)

Book With An Epic Finale Well, without any spoilers, the last book in The Mediator series involved time travel, so that’s pretty epic. Of course, Meg Cabot is apparently writing a new book in the series, but as of now it’s a pretty good finale.

Piper McLean (aggressive and persuasive but down to earth, caring and loving toward Jason, her friends, and family)

Book With a Tempting Synopsis (One You Haven’t Read) Looking at the unreleased books I haven’t mentioned yet, Illusive, a 2014 debut, kind of stands out. If I remember correctly, the summary mentioned a mixture of X-Men and Ocean’s Eleven or something similar, which certainly gets my attention (although I haven’t seen the latter – is that a bad thing?).

Leo Valdez (good-natured and energetic, funny but intelligent, honest and witty, and is skilled with machines)

Book That Made You Laugh The Distance Between Us was a hilarious book. I loved Caymen’s humor no matter how many times she said people didn’t get it – I totally got it and loved it. This book is why I’m looking forward to Kasie West’s next contemporary book (On the Fence, which you can see above!).

Hazel Levesque (bright and outgoing despite an unfortunate childhood, is mature for her age and has a love for horseback riding)

Favorite Character With a Tragic Past Poor, poor Callie from Where the Stars Still Shine. You felt so bad for her and just wanted her to fit in with her family, but at the same time you understood why she was having so much trouble adjusting.

Frank Zhang (somewhat shy, cynical, and clumsy, though he possesses a strong sense of duty, loyalty, and love)

Book You Loved More Than You Thought You Would The Reece Malcolm List was a big surprise right at the end of last year. I thought it would be a decent book, but it probably would have ended up on many “Best Of” lists if I had just read it a few weeks earlier.

Nico di Angelo (grim, solitary, powerful, and mysterious, highly unpredictable and selectively affectionate)

Most Mysterious Character You’ve Encountered This is another offbeat answer – Mia from If I Stay. Think about it – from the beginning, you see her in a crash and learn about her mostly from the people who care about her and the various flashbacks. Of course, that makes it that much more painful when you have to see all the beautiful moments Mia has had with her family when you already know what happened, but that’s also why I think this short book is so powerful.

Grover Underwood (cheerful, upbeat, and protective satyr who chews on furniture when he gets nervous)

Book You Won’t Read Due to Warnings Against Them I’ve managed to avoid a lot of bad books based on reviews (Hush, Hush; Fallen; Twilight – I read about half of the first book and never bothered with the rest), but a recent, less popular one that comes to mind is last year’s debut, Ink. I was excited for it, like many others, but hearing too many bad things about it made me decide that it probably wouldn’t be the book for me, despite any pretty pictures or a foreign location.

Clarissa La Rue (arrogant and hot-tempered, but brave, strong, and protective of camp)

Most Annoying Character When I love your “evil” twin sister way more than you and want her to win so badly just so that you wouldn’t, there’s a problem, and that problem was Lia from Prophecy of the Sisters. I didn’t mind her so much in the beginning, but by the end I was not a fan at all. And that’s saying something, considering her name! Lia is definitely a favorite of mine – there’s a reason it was the name I used on here until I was finally (slightly) comfortable with using my real name.

That took a long time to do, but I’m done! Don’t let the time commitment deter you – check out the original post (here, if you don’t want to scroll back to the top to find it) and write your own!

4 thoughts on “Flip That Page’s Bookish Survey: Greek Mythology Style!

  1. This was really good, and I totally agree with you on some of the answers too! I did this after seeing you had, and I’ve only done part 1 so far, but that’s here, however, I really like your answers and am waiting for on the fence desperately too! It sounds fantastic! 😀

    1. That’s great to hear that you did it as well! I’m definitely excited for On the Fence, especially when some pre-release reviews are starting to come in – all positive, of course!

Leave a Reply

