Mini-Reviews: January

MiniReviews

AfterglowThe main reason I’m doing a mini-review for this book rather than a full-length one isn’t because I didn’t like this book. I really enjoyed it, just like I did the rest of the books in this trilogy – I simply felt that I didn’t have enough to say about this book.

Things pick up where they left off in the second book, and plenty of craziness and drama and sadness happen in this book. There are even more gods, more looks into Pele’s past before she was split into three different people, more destruction as Ash and her dwindling friends try to stop the evil Colt. Once again, despite this book’s relatively large size and very long chapters (it was rare to have a chapter be less than 20 or so pages, although there were some), it read really quickly because, if you’re like me, you’re interested in getting to the end to see what’s going to happen. And then there’s the ending – it’s kind of meta, I feel like, definitely unusual. You’ll just have to read it to understand.

Anyway, if you’re like me and enjoyed the first two books in this series, then there’s a good chance you’ll enjoy this one as well.

4stars

YearofSecretAssignmentsThe Year of Secret Assignments was another perfectly enjoyable book that I just don’t have that much to say about.

Unlike the first book, where I didn’t know ahead of time that the whole book would consist of letters – which isn’t a problem, just was a bit unexpected and as such had me a bit confused at the beginning – I knew what to expect with this book. It was different, though, with three main characters and their three letter buddies, while the first book, Feeling Sorry for Celia, only had one, but I think the author did a good job of juggling it all.

One of the main characters sometimes got on my nerves and she doesn’t always seem to act (or sound, since it’s a letter) like her age (which was 10th grade? 11th? Not quite sure), but the further in the story I got, the less I cared.

There was sometimes needless drama, but for the most part the end of the book was quite interesting and entertaining. Definitely looking forward to the third book now.

4stars

ValkyrieRisingThis book has been on my to-read shelf for a long time, and the only reason it really stood the test of time was because it was about Valkyries, which intrigued me. While the book didn’t really wow me, it didn’t annoy me too much either.

My feelings to this book overall were pretty “meh.” The story was interesting enough, but it never seemed to go beyond a typical YA paranormal book for me, despite its different setting (it’s in Norway) and “monster” (the aforementioned Valkyries). Ellie was a decent protagonist – not too boring, but not too interesting and strong either, beyond her Valkyrie powers or whatever. The love interest was a typical love interest, but charming enough that I didn’t always care. You could often tell what was coming, mainly with said romance, and things never really seemed to have huge stakes.

It took me a while to read this book because I was sometimes a bit bored and had other books I was enjoying a lot more. So, this wasn’t a bad book, but it wasn’t a great book. It was just… well, a book. Some people might love it, some might not, but I’m not sure if there was enough to really hate it.

3stars

LiarSociety3

I had trouble deciding if this counted as a DNF for me.

You see, I decided just short of 100 pages in that I was done with this book. Normally, of course, I would count that as a DNF, but I ended up skipping right to the end so that I could see who was behind all the death and destruction and such. Well, the very last chapter was more of a wrapup, not a reveal. So I went back until I found the killer. Well, then I wanted to know a bit more, so I kept going backwards, skimming and stopping every once in a while to figure out what had happened. I eventually made it all the way back to where I stopped. Sure, I just skimmed it, but I had a basic idea of what had happened, and also had the basic idea that this book wasn’t really going to improve for me.

It wasn’t really that it was bad – it just wasn’t great. And the main reason I stopped reading it was after reading a line where protagonist Kate calls her parents useless. Yep, her words. And therein lies the problem – she has the stereotypical YA parents who only seem to be there because Kate is in high school and the authors don’t want to deal with something like parental death, emancipation, or Kate having to care for herself. They really don’t do anything – not because they don’t want to, but because the authors can’t allow them to do anything for this story to work. And that was just frustrating to me for some reason – maybe I’ve reached the breaking point of useless parents who have absolutely no reason not to be involved in their children’s lives, maybe I just wanted to move onto my next book. I’m not really sure.

Whatever the reason, this book wasn’t a winner for me. I’m not counting it as a DNF since I did read/skim most of it, but that’s just personal. Feel free to disregard this review if you don’t even like reading quasi-DNF reviews.

2.5stars

3 thoughts on “Mini-Reviews: January

Leave a Reply

