Catching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally

Catching JordanTitle: Catching Jordan

Author: Miranda Kenneally

Genre: Contemporary

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Pages: 283

Rating: 3.5/5

What girl doesn’t want to be surrounded by gorgeous jocks day in and day out? Jordan Woods isn’t just surrounded by hot guys, though-she leads them as the captain and quarterback of her high school football team. They all see her as one of the guys, and that’s just fine. As long as she gets her athletic scholarship to a powerhouse university. But now there’s a new guy in town who threatens her starting position… suddenly she’s hoping he’ll see her as more than just a teammate.

Back when this book came out, in late 2011, I decided to avoid this book for a couple reasons. Reason #1: I kind of hate football. Well, hate is a strong word – I just don’t like it at all and would be fine with watching any other sport (other than golf, of course – even my friend, who plays golf, thinks it’s boring to watch); anyway, I didn’t really want to read a whole book centering on football, even if it sounded like there was other stuff to distract me. Anyway, the other reason I avoided this book was because the protagonist did not sound like someone I would like. I was right for the most part, but this book was overall a pretty nice surprise.

I wasn’t a fan of the main character, Jordan, so that certainly didn’t help this book’s case. Jordan seemed to pretty much hate girls from the start. I understood that she needed to grow and that eventually she probably wouldn’t be such a girl-hater, but it made the beginning of the book difficult to get through at times. I don’t want to read about a girl who’s constantly belittling other girls, especially since she’s one of those people who has a stereotypical view of cheerleaders, which seem to be the only girls she interacts with. She’s also the type of girl who hates being compared to other girls and refuses to do anything that could remotely be seen as girly.

So, yeah, it was a bit hard to root for her in the beginning. I’m not even sure I was rooting for her in the end, but I wasn’t rooting against her anymore, and that’s definitely a step up. And I was on her side when she was dealing with sexism from other football players and coaches, especially in regards with her dream school, and I was also mad about her relationship with her dad and kind of wanted to smack him sometimes.

I wanted to see what would happen in this book, though. I’m not quite sure what kept me reading, but I was interested and often able to overlook things that made me roll my eyes or get frustrated with characters (namely, Jordan).

I was a bit confused about the romance, though. I mean, the summary makes it sound like there’s just this one new guy, and the book is mainly about her trying to make him see her as an actual girl, but there was actually a lot more to the romance than I was led to believe. I’m not saying that was a problem for me, but it did confuse me a bit.

I’m kind of behind on reviews right now, so I’m writing this review a couple weeks after I read this book, and I’m having trouble thinking of more things to say. I guess, in the grand scheme of things, this book wasn’t the most memorable thing I’ve ever read, but I kind of look back on it fondly (even though it really hasn’t been that long). Since I’ve read this book, I’ve read the next two books from Miranda Kenneally and I’ve enjoyed them a lot more, so while I think this was a nice introduction to her writing, it definitely seems like she learned from it. Or, at least she learned from it how to be an author I might be able to depend on, and isn’t that what all authors should do – write books that I like? I suppose they can write books that other people like, though…

Maybe.

Oh, and this was mentioned in a Jordan-Father scene, and I just had to find it, so to Google I went!

SOURCE

4stars

AddGoodreads

4 thoughts on “Catching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally

Leave a Reply

