Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Worlds I’d Never Want to Trade Places With

TopTenTuesday

I had fun with combining scary worlds and cute critters in these graphics, if you can’t tell. Some are cuter than others, but I was aiming for monstrous and frightening all at once.

I love reading about the macabre, depressing, probably-black-and-grey-rather-than-colored world of A Series of Unfortunate Events, but I don’t think I’d ever want to live in that world. I mean, the adults are either completely worthless and condescending or they get killed off by the condescending and evil adults. It’s some noir-like world that doesn’t really have a time period, which can make for an interesting and atmospheric read but could be confusing to actually live in, and, as already mentioned, it’s depressing, even if you aren’t a newly-orphaned trio sent off to live with somehow-distantly-related Count Olaf.

Now, I wasn’t a fan of this series (I know, I know, I’m the black sheep of the bunch – I don’t think I can think of anyone who didn’t at least love one of the currently two or three books out, can’t remember when the third comes out), but that only partially affected my decision that this is a pretty unhappy world. I mean, it’s some sort of dystopian society, right? Or am I remembering incorrectly? Either way, there are scary aliens who are tried to take over the world or something, and there’s this evil and awful plague running rampant in at least one country. Not to mention, I know nothing about the goings-on in America! Now, I could just be forgetting any mention of it, and it’s nice to see a dystopian that doesn’t focus on the happenings in the US and totally ignores all the rest of the continents and the rest of North America, but that doesn’t change the fact that things could be even worse in the US and why would I want to live in that mess?

The Wicked Lovely series is quite interesting but definitely dark, and that’s because the faeries are terrifying. Plenty of faeries love bringing mayhem, which includes rape and murder, into our little human world. They think in terms of different moralities, which can’t be good for us either. If I lived in that world, I would definitely live in an iron-plastered house – hell, I’d get a custom-iron wardrobe to keep the darn and scary faeries away from me!

Another interesting book, but I’d really rather skip the whole “being in a plane crash and then landing on  an island that has a bunch of evil guys who’d much rather kill us.” And their world in general isn’t doing too great – it’s a world of consumerism that’s even worse than ours, and girls aren’t really treated any better than they are now, they’re simply the target of even more beauty products that aim at lowering their self esteems. Leads to some great messages, but not a happy world.

I feel like there’s no explanation needed for this series if you’ve read it, but you can really just read the graphic above. There was no way I was going to choose a little critter that was even close to being cute- those books are depressing and make me sad when I read them yet I had to see them through to the end. It was totally a bittersweet ending, and there were very few punches pulled simply because the cast were all children. A terrifying world that definitely left me scarred after reading it.

I have a feeling this is going to show up on many lists. I mean, you have the chance of ending up in a fight to the death with a bunch of other kids, and unless you live in the consumerism-driven capitol, your regular life is going to suck as well. Seriously, not a happy place.

I was starting to run out of worlds that I would hate and was scrolling through various books I’ve read on Goodreads when the brightly-colored books of the Pretty Little Liars series caught my eye. It might not seem like the right fit, but think about it – lots of people die in the books, and there’s a lot of creepy stalking and such going on. Even if you aren’t being stalked, there’s just way too much drama going on to be have a happy existence in Rosewood, PA.

I mean, come on – it’s about zombies! There’s no way I’d want to live in a world with zombies. And their society is very old-fashioned and boring. And I disliked the protagonist, but I suppose that has less to do with the world. I suppose…

This series was up and down for me, but that doesn’t change the fact that I would never want to be stuck on their spaceship and (SPOILER) the planet later. (END SPOILER) It was a very claustrophobic world with creepy and often crappy leaders and a substance that initially controls everyone – not that things get much better later. All in all, I’ll stick with Earth.

There are multiple reasons I wouldn’t want to be in this world, but it all boils down to one word: THE SEXISM (OK, two if you include the determiner). Seriously women are barely even second class citizens, and if I were suddenly plopped down in this world, I wouldn’t survive because I would probably do something that would get me thrown into the local (solely occupied by women) insane asylum or EXECUTED. Seriously, I don’t think I’d last a day.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Worlds I’d Never Want to Trade Places With

  1. great list, I love the lay out. I agree with some of your reasons and never thought about Pretty Little Liars but I would be happy not to trade with that one haha.

    1. Yeah, I was focusing on dystopias and such and was running out of ideas and just happened to see the bright colors of the covers on Goodreads and knew that I could NEVER handle being in those books. I would get the hell out of Rosewood the second I could!

      1. Having only read a few of the books but seen all the TV program, I would be the same if the books are anything like the show. You can’t be in PLL and not get dragged into the mess so yeah, best to just stay away haha.

        I know what you mean about running out of ideas, although I did come across some that I could have used in other people TTT. 🙂

      2. Yeah, looking through other people’s TTTs made me stop and mentally smack myself in the head sometimes for forgetting so many places that I’d much rather read about than live in!

Leave a Reply

