The Reece Malcolm List by Amy Spalding

Reece Malcolm ListTitle: The Reece Malcolm List

Author: Amy Spalding

Genre: Contemporary

Publisher: Entangled Teen

Pages: 352

Rating: 4.5/5

Things I know about Reece Malcolm:

1. She graduated from New York University.
2. She lives in or near Los Angeles.
3. Since her first novel was released, she’s been on the New York Times bestseller list every week.
4. She likes strong coffee and bourbon.
5. She’s my mother.

Devan knows very little about Reece Malcolm, until the day her father dies and she’s shipped off to live with the mother she’s never met. All she has is a list of notebook entries that doesn’t add up to much.

L.A. offers a whole new world to Devan—a performing arts school allows her to pursue her passion for show choir and musicals, a new circle of friends helps to draw her out of her shell, and an intriguing boy opens up possibilities for her first love.

But then the Reece Malcolm list gets a surprising new entry. Now that Devan is so close to having it all, can she handle the possibility of losing everything?

This little debut kind of came out of left field. Like, completely. And if you’ve read this book, you might get that little reference – if not, believe me that I try my best not to use the word “like” as filler in my regular conversation.

Protagonist Devan reminds me a lot of myself. This made me very, very happy – and kind of worried, because some of the qualities and personality traits that Devan had and that multiple characters (and possibly reviewers – haven’t read any reviews of this yet) kept calling her out on are ones that we share. At least I’m willing to admit that, right? Right?

Anyway, I was a big fan of this book and the characters. Devan seemed different from many YA contemporary protagonists. Yes, she’s quite shy, with little experience and such, but she truly comes alive when she’s performing and she’s not afraid to admit that she’s good at what she does. I admired that in her, and I want to see that in more protagonists. Yes, she could have been even more unique, but it was a great step in the right direction.

The other characters were also quite interesting. I loved Reece and Brad so much and loved hearing about their relationship and their interactions with Devan. The group of students that become friends with Devan were all also interesting. Some were more uneven than others – Travis and Lissa, for example – but for the most part I didn’t care and just wanted to see them all even more!

The story was interesting as well. Devan was sometimes overemotional in a way that I didn’t understand, and there was sometimes drama where it seemed unnecessary and even a little over-the-top, but I really didn’t mind all that much. I wanted to read more about the various relationships in this book. The romance was dramatic and adorable and weird and not the most interesting relationship in the book, but not in a bad way.

This book definitely has me excited for more book from Amy Spalding, and it even had me already putting it on my “books to buy” list as soon as I finished it.

4.5stars

AddGoodreads

6 thoughts on “The Reece Malcolm List by Amy Spalding

Leave a Reply

