Awaken by Meg Cabot

AwakenTitle: Awaken

Author: Meg Cabot

Genre: Mythology/Paranormal

Publisher: Point

Pages: 343

Rating: 3.5/5

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Meg Cabot, the dark reimagining of the Persephone myth comes to a thrilling conclusion.

Death has her in his clutches. She doesn’t want him to let go.

Seventeen-year-old Pierce Oliviera knew by accepting the love of John Hayden, she’d be forced to live forever in the one place she’s always dreaded most: the Underworld. The sacrifice seemed worth it, though, because it meant she could be with the boy she loves.

But now her happiness — and safety — are threatened, all because the Furies have discovered that John has broken one of their strictest rules: He revived a human soul.

If the balance between life and death isn’t fixed, both the Underworld and Pierce’s home back on earth will be wiped away. But there’s only one way to restore order. Someone has to die.

For some reason, this series hasn’t stuck in my head much. I’ll read a book, take a while to read the next, and have forgotten much of what happened in the previous book. This happened here once again, but I do think this was my favorite out of the trilogy.

The main reason this has been my favorite book of the series is the characters. I don’t remember if this was the case before, but Pierce is pretty funny. She’s often sarcastic and not really meek at all, which leads to some funny moments in dialogue and internal monologues. There were also some secondary characters, both new and old, who made things funnier, especially in some of the darker moments.

I couldn’t help but notice how similar this book/series was to another series from Meg Cabot: The Mediator. Now, that’s both a bad and a good thing. It’s good because I really love The Mediator and it was nice seeing some similar elements. It’s bad because, well, you can’t just copy stuff you’ve already written and stick new circumstances and names on it. Mr. Smith seemed like Father Dominic, the scary horse that hates Pierce seems like the scary cat that hates Suze, and the creepy, old cemetery is the creepy (at night), old school. It wasn’t necessarily a bad thing to see some similar elements, but I do think it detracted slightly from my enjoyment of this book.

Another thing that detracted from my enjoyment was the over-the-top love. Pierce could be blunt and hilarious at times, but when she was talking about her epic love with John, it was cheesy and a bit melodramatic. I get it, your love is great, but you really shouldn’t be so obsessed with each other. Especially when you refuse to marry the guy – if you were as obsessed as you suggest otherwise, then getting married at a young age probably wouldn’t matter as much. Plus, wasn’t the getting married thing a big deal in Twilight or something? I never read past the halfway point or so in the first book, but I enjoy reading (very, very snarky) summaries of the books.

I also wasn’t sure all the time if I like the mythology used in this book. It was more subtle most of the time, but I know I wasn’t always happy with the Furies, because that’s not quite how Furies work. And please don’t treat the Hades and Persephone story as a love story – Hades kidnapped a child (because I’m pretty sure she’s a lot younger than he is and it was only okay because it was Ancient Greece) and forced her to live with him and she was kind of miserable about it. It was not consensual in the slightest.

Despite the problems I had with this book, I still think it’s the best of the three and has given me hope that I can at least enjoy newer Cabot books, if not be obsessed with them the way I am with her older books.

3.5stars

AddGoodreads

6 thoughts on “Awaken by Meg Cabot

Leave a Reply

