Mini-Reviews: December

MiniReviews

WickedWithinThis was the final book in the Gods and Monsters trilogy (at least, I think that’s the series’ title – it’s something like that, at least), so I expected it to be a bit over the top with all the action in an attempt to wrap it up, but sometimes it felt like there was a bit too much.

Coming into this book, I barely remembered anything that had happened in the first and second books, especially how the second book ended. Therefore, all the info-dumping paragraphs in the early chapters, which might have annoyed someone who actually remembered what happened, were quite helpful for me because otherwise I would have no idea what was going on. So, if you dislike info-dumping, I’ve got some bad news for you about the early chapters.

By the end, I was sometimes skimming because I just wanted to be done and it was pretty overwhelming. Up until this point, the books have focused mainly on twisting Greek mythology, but other bits of mythology (mainly, Egyptian) were suddenly thrown in and it mostly confused me and began to annoy me when it came to how different things are (Artemis is a virgin goddess! Stop having baby daddy drama with her!).

It wasn’t horrible, though. If you’ve enjoyed the rest of the series, this’ll probably be a pretty decent finale, although certain things at the end do seem a bit convenient. I know it seems like I only had bad things to say about it, but other than the bad things that I did mention, it was perfectly fine.

3.5stars

StarglassI wanted to like this debut, but I just didn’t. It wasn’t a bad book, it just had too many science fiction tropes that I’ve gotten tired of reading over and over and over again.

Why do so many dystopias have to go back in time to come up with hellish scenarios? Stop having sexism and simple living as the only way to make your world uncomfortable for the protagonists. Stop having jobs forced on your teenagers, marriages at sixteen or seventeen, and females treated as second class just because they have a vagina. I want dystopias that are different!

I’m sure some people would last longer with this book, but it just had too many things that I’m getting sick of reading to keep going. It also reminded me a lot of Across the Universe, which wasn’t my favorite. Just too many things that would probably lead me to being disappointed at the end, so no reason to force myself to continue. I’ll leave this book to people who enjoy dystopias a lot more than I do.

2.5stars

AnotherLittlePieceI didn’t really know much about this book going in, other than the summary and the fact that the reviews I did read thought it was pretty twisted and mysterious and such. I certainly agree with that, but unfortunately I didn’t stick around long enough to see if it would make more sense by the end.

This is the type of book that takes patience. Apparently I don’t have any, or at least didn’t have any while I was reading this. The book started out interesting, but then things got a bit weird and slow and I just didn’t care to stick around long enough to see if things were going to get weird and interesting again.

So, this didn’t seem like a bad book – it’s just a book that requires patience, and I apparently didn’t have any while I was reading it. Definitely plan to be patient and to stick around for the long haul if you want to read this.

2.5stars

TheoryofEverythingThis book actually started out well for me – I was interested in the story and the main character and the interesting episodes that she had on a semi-regular basis. I wanted to understand them more, but I mostly wanted to read more about Sophie Sophia. Unfortunately, that didn’t last throughout the whole book.

Somewhere after the first third or so of the book, it just started petering out. The main character was becoming annoying and irrational, the characters seemed more over the top and not always in character, and I found myself caring less and less about the story.

A big problem with this book was the fact that I didn’t know how it was handling mental illness. I admit that I might have a better grasp if I stuck around until the end, but nearly halfway through, more than 100 pages in, I feel like I should have had a better idea. Sophie kept insisting that her episodes weren’t hallucinations and she was very insulted that her mother would even suggest getting professional help. I can’t tell if this was a sign of her delusion or if I’m supposed to agree with her.

Either way, I got less interested in the book as it went on and wasn’t quite comfortable with the way the story was going. A disappointing end for what I thought was a promising start.

2.5stars

AStrangerThingI wasn’t the biggest fan of Mothership – too much slutshaming and irritating and often unrealistic “teen speak” for me – but it had a decent enough story that I was mildly interested in the sequel. Apparently I should have just listened to my gut and not bothered, because this book, while not a bad book (in fact, I think it had a fairly interesting story) was clearly not the book for me, and I ultimately set it aside in favor of other books.

There were a few reasons I gave up on this book: 1. More “teen speak”! More slutshaming! More of the things that irritated me about the first book! 2. It seemed like there might be a random love triangle thrown into this book – I didn’t finish it of course, so I don’t know for sure, but it sure seemed to be headed that way; and 3. I did think it was an interesting enough plot, but not interesting enough to hold my attention with all the other problems I had with it.

So, I think people who liked the first book will probably like this book, but it’s just not for me.

2.5stars

One thought on “Mini-Reviews: December

Leave a Reply

