Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Goals/Resolutions for 2014

TopTenTuesday

This applies to both my blog and my reading, but mostly my blog – I love the freedom that having a backlog of posts gives me. I can work on posts when I want to, rather than feeling like I have to because it’s going to go up soon. This is especially helpful with reviews and discussion posts. I also prefer it when I have a nice little pile of books of read. It’s nice to work my way through a stack, but I also like having a book that I plan on rereading for whenever I finish working my way through a pile of library books.

I certainly got better at this last year, but I still don’t carry books everywhere, and I started getting out of the habit of taking books to class much of this past semester as well. Sometimes it’s because I know I probably won’t have enough time to read, sometimes it’s because my bag is already quite full, and sometimes, as much as I hate to admit, it’s because I’m kind of embarrassed for people to see whatever I’m reading. I’ll try to get out of that this year – or just always have a book on my Nook, where people can’t see what I’m reading (yes, I can be a bit of a coward, sorry!)

I’m sure I’ll mostly read young adult, but I want to start reading some nonfiction and adult books as well this year. This intimidates me a lot, but I hope to change that!

I already posted my challenges for the year, so feel free to check them out – they’re pretty much all the normal ones (100 books, Debut & Sophomore Books), but I’m also adding 10 Adult books. I don’t like the really specific challenges, like Books with POC or LGBTQ protagonists – not because I don’t want to read them (because I seriously do want to add more of those books into my reading), but because it’s so much harder to find them and I’d have to have a really low number to fulfil the challenge!

See how it’s a different font? See, aren’t I clever?! Anyway, I want to try and do more things here that make me stand out among other book blogs. I want to be different!

I want to try and interact with people more online, through comments and Twitter and anything else. I read lots of other Twitters and blogs and Goodreads accounts and such, but I don’t interact that much with people. I need to at least try and be more social!

Despite the large number of DNFs lately, I don’t like having to do that. I like finishing books, if only because that means I’m reading books I actually like!

I already started this at the end of 2013 – I have a little notebook and I’m going to try and write down any quotes that I like. For end of year quote lists and such, I always have trouble coming up with even one!

This is about interacting with people in my real life, specifically about books. I don’t really have anyone to talk to about books, and it would be great if I could change that!

I don’t seem to have as much trouble with blogging slumps as some bloggers, and I think that’s because I have less obligations – I don’t do ARCs and I’ve had a backlog of at least a few posts for the past couple of months. If I do start to experience a slump, though, then I want to stop until it’s fun again. I do this because I want to, and if I don’t want to, then I don’t want to force myself. I want to continue having fun!

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Goals/Resolutions for 2014

  1. I want to try to have a backlog of reviews to publish as well. I have some at the moment and it just makes me relax a little more, knowing that I have some reviews ready to go when I need them to. I hope you achieve your goals! 🙂

    1. It does relax me so much more – right now I have 10+ posts, which’ll last until the end of January or so, so I am feeling very relaxed and actually motivated to write more and get even further ahead! And thanks!

  2. I agree with all of your resolutions. I really want to become sociable and talk to people more from the blogosphere because I always feel like I’m missing out! And as much as I would like to have a backlog of reviews to publish at a moment’s notice, I doubt that’d happen as I seem to write reviews after reading books, and I don’t read a ton of books as it is. But I do need to have a backlog of discussion or “fun” posts to help me out, definitely. And I also want to start a little journal of all my favourite book quotes. I think it’d be so cool looking back every few years and seeing what words spoke to me at a given time.
    Great list! 🙂

    1. Yeah, I want to be more sociable, but then I get lazy and don’t feel like commenting on people’s posts! I tend to write reviews anywhere from the same day to weeks later, which is easier when I have a backlog! And it would be cool to have interesting quotes to look back on, but I’m just not so great at picking them out – I really hope this works out better this year, especially since I love looking at other people’s collections of quotes!

Leave a Reply

