New Reads (January and February 2014)

NewReads

Untitled-1 HollowCity

Being Sloane Jacobs by Lauren Morrill (January 7, 2014)

I wasn’t a big fan of Morrill’s Meant to Be, but this book sounds cute as well, and as long as I like the main character more, I’ll probably like the story more as well. This involves hockey and a Parent Trap-esque plot (I think), so that totally sounds like something I would enjoy – hopefully that’s the case!

Hollow City by Ransom Riggs (January 14, 2014)

Miss Peregrine was a twisted and creepy book, and I’d really like to know where the creepiness goes with this sequel. And, even though I don’t like creepy things, there’s a part of me that’s hoping for even freakier pictures.

Evertrue Unbound

Evertrue by Brodi Ashton (January 21, 2014)

I wasn’t a big fan of Everneath or Everbound, but after the ending of Everbound, I just have to know what happens. I can only imagine what people who actually like the book are going through! (And that’s not to say that it’s a horrible book, it just wasn’t my favorite)

The Unbound by Victoria Schwab (January 28, 2014)

Even though it started out pretty slow, I quite enjoyed The Archived, so I’m interested to see how things are going in the sequel!

IgniteMe Something Real

Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi (February 4, 2014)

The Shatter Me trilogy is pretty much a “love it or hate it” series – luckily for me, I pretty much love it. Juliette and Adam can be too angsty and it worries me how much I like Warner considering he’s pretty much an awful human being, but I’m really interested to see what’ll happen in the final book. And look at that cover! It’s just so pretty!

Something Real by Heather Demetrios (February 4, 2014)

This is a debut about a reality TV show or something, which sounds pretty similar to a book I read last year that wasn’t so great, but I hope this one works out better. And isn’t that cover just adorable?

LadyThief SplitSecond

Lady Thief by A.C. Gaughen (February 11, 2014)

Scarlet was a pretty unique and interesting debut with a twist on the Robin Hood legend. I’m definitely interested to see what’ll happen in this sequel, and I hope that I’ll be just as fine with the grammar mistakes as before – it’s part of the story, but I can see why it might annoy some people.

Split Second by Kasie West (February 11, 2014)

I wasn’t as big a fan of West’s paranormal debut as her contemporary one, but I’m definitely interested to see what’ll happen after the brutal ending of Pivot Point. I also actually liked the best friend in the first book, which unfortunately can be unusual, and I think she might be co-narrating this book, which could be interesting.

PerfectLies BurnBright

Perfect Lies by Kiersten White (February 18, 2014)

Mind Games wasn’t perfect, but it was pretty mindlessly entertaining (which is kind of ironic, when you consider the name), so I’m interested to see what’ll happen to the sisters in this book. I kind of hated one of the sisters (which made me feel awful, considering it was the blind one), so hopefully she’ll grow some more on me.

Burn Bright by Bethany Frenette (February 25, 2014)

Dark Star was also a surprisingly enjoyable book for me last year – it probably helped that I knew this book was about demons instead of superheroes beforehand – so I’m hoping for an equally fun sequel.

Leave a Reply

