Monthly Rewind: December

MonthlyRewind

Song of the Month: Christmas Music

It was December, so of course I mostly spent the month listening to Christmas music!

Top Books Read

1. The Casual Vacancy (J.K. Rowling): It wasn’t the same as Harry Potter, of course, and took a long time to read, but I really enjoy my first foray into adult fiction outside of required reading for class. Plenty of characters, both good and bad people but pretty much all interesting.

2. The Reece Malcolm List (Amy Spalding): This was a surprise hit for me, like some of my other favorites from this year! I read it too late for it to show up on various end-of-year lists, unfortunately, but trust me – it was my favorite debut for sure! (Review coming soon)

3. Goodbye, Rebel Blue (Shelley Coriell): It wasn’t perfect, but this was another nice surprise, especially after being wowed by Reece Malcolm, so it also helped make me hopeful for the upcoming year of books! (Review coming soon)

Favorite (Non-Review) Posts

This is something a bit new – I want to bring more attention to some other posts I’ve done this past month.

1. Top Ten Tuesday: 2014 Releases I’m Dying to Read: Is it wrong to include a post because I like the graphics? Well, I also like the post – putting a spotlight on upcoming books is always fun, and I hope my post is as helpful as other people’s posts from this Tuesday were for me!

2. Top Ten Tuesday: New-To-Me Authors That I Read in 2013: Again, I really liked the graphics on this (I had just discovered PicMonkey thanks to Anna Reads) and had a little pattern, but again I like the wrapping-up posts at the end of the year that put the spotlight on great books and authors!

3. End of Year Book Survey 2013: I like end-of-year things, alright? And this survey from The Perpetual Page-Turner was not only long but a great way to look back at the past year of reading and figure out what I liked beyond “10 Favorite Books” or whatever.

4. Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Bringing Me: I swear there’ll be less Top 10 Tuesdays in this section in the future, it was just a great month for them! Definitely had fun with the graphics in this post.

5. Merry Christmas! I put A Charlie Brown Christmas GIFs in this – enough said.

6. The FIVE Challenge: This end-of-year wrap-up post initially came from Persnickety Snark and was multiple posts, but I combined it into one super-sized and fun (well, to me anyway) post.

Books I’m Excited About

Outcast HowToLove UnitedWeSpy Impossible

I currently have Outcast and How to Love on hold in my library’s ebook collection in my attempt to get as many more Debut and Sophomore books read before the year ends. Depending on when I can get them, I’ll either read United We Spy before or after them, since I already have it from the library – I’m both excited and scared to see the end of this series! And I am determined to reread Impossible at some point because it’s been so long!

Upcoming Releases I’m Excited About

Unbound

This book comes out sometime in January, so hopefully it’ll come into my library sometime soon and I’ll get to see what happens in the sequel to The Archived!

A Goal for January

Less DNFs. That’s a goal for the whole year, really, but the way to start the year off right is by finishing most if not all of the books I start! I don’t just want to avoid writing so many DNF reviews, though – finishing all of the books I read also means that I’m at least a little interested in all of them, which is always a good thing.

Leave a Reply

