Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books On My Winter TBR

TopTenTuesday

Afterglow UnitedWeSpy HowToLove Frostbite ScentofMagic Outcast RedPyramid Unbound IgniteMe LadyThief

1. Afterglow (Karsten Knight)

This is the final book in the trilogy and has plenty of mythology, which is pretty much always an amazing thing for me. And, despite their huge length, I always read them really quickly, which is always a plus.

2. United We Spy (Ally Carter)

Another final book, this time involving spies rather than godesses. Since this is a longer series and I’ve been reading it for longer, I’m a bit sadder to see it end.

3. How to Love (Katie Cotugno)

I don’t mind books about babies at all, so that plus the many great reviews I’ve heard about this have me fairly excited to read it. It just sounds like a great contemporary book, although I’m kind of worried that I’ll find the love interest just as bad as some other people do – hopefully that won’t impede my reading enjoyment!

4. Frostbite (Richelle Mead)

I finally read Vampire Academy a couple months ago, so I figure I should check out the second book since I think I’ve heard that the series gets better. I actually checked it out soon after reading the first book, but I couldn’t get past the infodumping recap of a prologue (it was literally “this is all the information you found out in the first book,” which might have been helpful if I hadn’t just read the first book, so it was just annoying), so I decided to come back to it later.

5. Scent of Magic (Maria V. Snyder)

I really enjoyed Touch of Power a couple months ago, so I’d definitely like to continue the series with the second book. Snyder is one of the few reliable fantasy authors for me, since I tend to avoid high fantasy books.

6. Outcast (Adrienne Kress)

I’m really sad that my library doesn’t seem to have this book, which is really disappointing, since I really, really enjoyed Kress’s The Friday Society back at the beginning of the year. This is about angels and has had some good reviews, so I’d really like to get my hands on it.

7. The Red Pyramid (Rick Riordan)

I can’t believe I haven’t read the Egyptian mythology trilogy that came from the author of Percy Jackson yet, especially since my sister has the first book. Hopefully I can remedy that over Christmas break.

8. The Unbound (Victoria Schwab)

This book doesn’t come out until January, but that’s during winter, so I’m putting it on this list, especially since I am looking forward to it after the end of the first book was so interesting. Hopefully the second book will start off quickly and be enjoyable from the very beginning.

9. Ignite Me (Tahereh Mafi)

I’m one of those people who actually enjoys all the purple prose and cross outs, although I do find Juliette and Adam a bit annoying at times and can certainly understand why some people are turned off by the writing and such. I’m mostly in it to see what’ll happen in the dystopian world or whatever, to see if Warner will become a good guy (although that seems unlikely, which is why it’s really not a good thing that I ship him with Juliette so much – he is a freaking sociopath), and to see more of the amazing Kenji.

10. Lady Thief (A.C. Gaughen)

Scarlet was a surprisingly good book for me, so I’m really interested to see where Scarlet and the gang are and what they’re up to in the second book.

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books On My Winter TBR

    1. I’m not bad at abandoning series, but sometimes they can fall on the wayside while I’m reading other series. It should be quite easy to get from the library as well, so there’s really no reason for delaying in my case!

  1. Somehow I forgot to include new releases in my list or else The Unbound would have been on mine too. I loved the first one and can’t wait to get more Wes ❤ 😀

    1. There are so many books out there that it’s hard to remember everything you want to read! Definitely looking forward to the Unbound, and hoping that it doesn’t start out so slow like the first book did for me!

    1. Yeah, The Archived started off kind of slowly for me, but I really enjoyed it and think many other people who like YA paranormal will as well! And I definitely hope that I get to them all!

    1. I hope I enjoy Frostbite as well – now that The Vampire Academy was more enjoyable than I was expecting, I’m kind of worried that I’ll expect too much and be kind of disappointed! And definitely hoping that How to Love and Ignite Me are good!

Leave a Reply

