Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Best Sequels Ever

TopTenTuesday

There are plenty of other amazing third, fourth, fifth, and more books in series, but I figured it would be easier to limit myself to ten if I also limit myself to the second books in duologies, trilogies, quartets, and other sized series.

BestSequels1

1. Where She Went (Gayle Forman)

I was nervous when I first heard about a sequel to If I Stay because I wasn’t sure if it would live up to the emotional punch of the first book, but I was needlessly worried – it was amazing. It was great seeing Mia and Adam again and I can’t wait until I reread them again sometime in the next few months so I can revisit them even more!

2. A Million Suns (Beth Revis)

I was kind of disappointed with Across the Universe (and very disappointed with the third book), but I was very impressed by the middle book. This series did not suffer from middle book syndrome. The story enthralled me completely and one of the main characters, Amy, didn’t bother me as much as she did in the other books. It was a shame that I the third book disappointed me the way it did, but at least there’s the second book.

BestSequels2

3. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (J.K. Rowling)

Does this even need an explanation? It’s simply more proof that Harry Potter is awesome, and introduces us to interesting characters like Professor Lockhart and the Whomping Willow (totally a character in itself!) and made it clear that the first book was not a fluke.

4. The Boy Book (E. Lockhart)

This is another amazing book that merely made it clear that the first book wasn’t a fluke. Ruby continued to be awesome and the characters around her continued to grow. I plan on rereading these books as soon as possible (in fact, I might be rereading this when this post goes up – I’m writing it about two weeks in advance, so you never know).

BestSequels3

5. Hallowed (Cynthia Hand)

This second book in the trilogy was much more emotional than the first book and, yet again, made it clear that this was an author to watch. I’m not sure the third and final book quite lived up to it, but considering how great I considered the second book, plenty of good books wouldn’t live up to it.

6. The Awakening (Kelley Armstrong)

This book mostly takes place on the run, which some people consider a bad thing, but I actually enjoy, especially in this book. There are more adorable and ship-bating moments with Chloe and Derek and Tori becomes a more interesting character and we discover more things. All good things in my opinion.

BestSequels4

7. Cross My Heart and Hope to Spy (Ally Carter)

The first book in this series sometimes seems like it’s from another series since it’s much fluffier. This book is the one that introduces Blackthorne and twists and turns. And Zach. Definitely the most interesting point…

8. Skulduggery Pleasant: Playing with Fire (Derek Landy)

This book made it clear that, even as the books got darker, the humor would always be there. It also introduces an interesting villain (by interesting, I mean entertaining, of course) and continues to be fascinating and attention-grabbing. I should reread these as well…

BestSequels5

9. Lola and the Boy Next Door (Stephanie Perkins)

I know most people love Anna and the French Kiss, but I prefer the companion book. Lola interested me more and I think Cricket was much more adorable. Sorry to offend you St. Clair fans, but I am definitely a Cricket girl.

10. The Mediator: Ninth Key (Meg Cabot)

This is just as entertaining as the rest of the series, but it has a hilarious look at “vampires” – a funnier take than certain other vampire books, that’s for sure. And more Suze and Jesse. Of course.

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Best Sequels Ever

    1. It definitely does, and I think I might agree that the 3rd is even better than the 2nd, but I knew if I didn’t limit myself to 2nd books only I wouldn’t be able to finish this list! And Lola makes me pretty darn happy thinking about it as well – I plan on rereading it soon, so I’ve been looking forward to that!

  1. I loooooove the new covers for the Harry Potter books, especially Chamber of Secrets – which made it to my list!

    Gah, your list makes me feel guilty for not reading all of these super-popular series.

    Bekka
    Pretty Deadly Reviews

    1. Yeah, I practically HAD to use the new covers! If I had a much, much bigger book budget, I would go out and buy all the new books and I would happily display them together!

      Trust me, there are plenty of super-popular books that I need to read as well! There are just SO many books…

  2. The Boy Book AND Lola made my list ALSO!!!!! I almost put HP on the list, but I couldn’t decide which book I liked better (even though technically The Chamber of Secrets is #2). Cool list… I’m loving those new Harry covers also!

    My TTT

    1. I just happily reread The Boy Book and plan on rereading Lola soon, so I’ve been pretty happy with great contemporary sequels lately!

      I limited myself to books that were #2 in series, which is the only way I could decide on a Harry Potter book! And yes, the new covers are SO pretty – I want to own them as well as the older ones of my childhood! Why do books have to cost so much money? 🙂

    1. Yeah, I was really hesitant to read it when the first book came out because the summary made it sound like a stereotypical YA romance that wouldn’t interest me, but it’s MUCH better than the summary implies Yeah, there’s a bit of a love triangle, but I actually don’t mind it. I hope you get the chance to read it soon and love it as much as I did! And I liked the sequel even MORE, if that’s incentive to start the first book!

  3. Oooh nice list! I actually really want to read Lola And The Boy Next Door, but before that I’d have to read the first book (am so excited to!) And I LOVE the Unearthly series! And I definitely love me some Harry Potter. Where She Went + A Million Suns made my list, so YAY! I really wanna read the Gallagher Girls series *sigh* I loved Heist Society, so it seems to me Ally Carter can do no wrong!

    1. Thanks! If you’re like most other people, you’ll probably like Anna more, but Lola was definitely my favorite of the two! And I think you could probably read Lola without reading Anna, although she does make a cameo in Lola. And yes, LOVE Unearthly and Harry Potter and Gallagher Girls – I think Gallagher Girls, at leas the earlier books, are a little younger than Heist Society, but they’re so much fun that I don’t think age really plays a factor at all! Definitely excited for future things from Carter…

Leave a Reply

