Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books On My Fall 2013 TBR List

TopTenTuesday

I’m not doing any fancy (well, my version of fancy) graphics or anything else special for this week – I’m just going to post the top ten books I’m looking forward to this season and I’ll let them speak for themselves. Well, I’ll write about they as well, but you know what I mean. Hopefully, because otherwise I’m rambling. Which I am. Oh well, on to the books! Books make everything less awkward!

BetweentheDevilandtheDeepBlueSea UnitedWeSpy WheretheStarsStillShine Antigoddess LikeMandarin StormGlass RedPyramid VampireAcademy SecondChanceSummer BeforeIFall

1. Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea (April Genevieve Tucholke)

This is a recent debut that I’ve heard mostly great things about, has an interesting title and cover, and is written by someone with my name! I’ve never read a book by someone with my name, even if it’s just the middle name! That’s one reason I’m really happy that I decided to start using my real name for this blog – before I was excited about the name but I couldn’t say anything because no one knew what my real name was! Anyway, the book sounds interesting as well, but it’s all about the name, isn’t it?

2. United We Spy (Ally Carter)

The last Gallagher Girls book! I was disappointed with how the author has handled things about the recent Mortal Instruments movie (see my post here), but I still really enjoy the series and am excited to see how everything ends for Cammie and her friends.

3. Where the Stars Still Shine (Trish Doller)

This is the sophomore book from the author of last year’s Something Like Normal, a debut that I enjoyed for the most part. This book sounds more like my thing than a returning soldier adapting to civilian life once more, so I’m excited to see if I’ve found another great contemporary author. This book involves a girl also returning home, only she’s been kidnapped and on the run with her mother for years before finally ending back up with her father’s family. Sounds quite interesting.

4. Antigoddess (Kendare Blake)

I enjoyed Kendare Blake’s Anna duology (at least I assume it’s a duology – haven’t heard anything about a third book and she now has this series, so…), but I was initially worried about this book because YA books can be kind of bad when it comes to successfully adapting mythology. Then I started reading reviews, positive reviews from people who claim to be just as obsessed with mythology as I am, so I’m back to excitement. Let’s hope the excitement is warranted!

5. Like Mandarin (Kirsten Hubbard)

This is a book that’s been on my to-read shelf on Goodreads for a long time. One of the libraries I go to has it online, and since I’m back at school and more likely to read ebooks from the library or reread my own personal books, I figure now is as good a time as any to finally read it. I didn’t end up enjoying Hubbard’s other book, Wanderlove, enough to finish it, but I hope this book works out better for me.

6. Storm Glass (Maria V. Snyder)

This hasn’t been on my to-read shelf nearly as long, but it’s also available in ebook form and I figure I should get around to it as well. I really enjoyed the Study trilogy, especially the first book, and this is a companion trilogy focusing on a secondary character from those books, so should be interesting. It seems Maria V. Snyder is one of the few fantasy writers that I like to read – not that I’ve tried many fantasy writers, just saying that her like her. I should probably try more fantasy books, because they rarely seem to let me down!

7. The Red Pyramid (Rick Riordan)

This is another mythology series from Riordan, but it’s Egyptian mythology and completely different characters and only three books long. My sister has the first book, so it’d be really easy to borrow and read that, especially while I’m waiting for to get my hands on the fourth Heroes of Olympus book. What’d I tell you – I love mythology, even if I stick to the more “typical” cultures like Greek, Roman, Egyptian, and Norse. Must read more mythology from different cultures!

8. Vampire Academy (Richelle Mead)

So many people in the book blogging community have read this series, and with the movie coming out… some time, I really have no idea when, I figure I should at least attempt to read the books in case I ever see the movie. Now, I hear that the trailer for it is really cheesy, but hopefully the books will be good. This is another book I can get from my library’s ebook collection, so yay for that!

9. Second Chance Summer (Morgan Matson)

It sounds like I’m basically guaranteed to cry at least once while reading this book, but I don’t care. So many people seem to love Morgan Matson and I’ve been steadily increasing my love of contemporary books in the past year or so, so this seems like a good fit. I may want to wait until winter break or something though, when I’m back home and can hide in my room for a couple of days.

10. Before I Fall (Lauren Oliver)

Can you guess why this might be on my list? If you guessed that I can get it online, then you’d be correct! It’s also been on my to-read shelf for a long time as well! I wasn’t a big fan of Oliver’s Delirium (I didn’t finish it either, though I did try), but this is a different genre and I’ve heard more good things about it than her trilogy, so I’m hopeful. Please don’t let that hope be for nothing!

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books On My Fall 2013 TBR List

  1. I’ve seen Antigoddess on a few lists now and I think I’m sold. I’m such a mythology geek too so it definitely sounds interesting!

    1. Yes, it sounds so interesting! I was REALLY nervous about it because I’m also a HUGE fan of mythology, especially Greek mythology, but now I’ve read so many good reviews that I’m really excited instead! I especially like the fact that one review said the book doesn’t try to clean up the gods – they do some awful things and are pretty screwed up, so that’ll be interesting to see!

      1. Ooh that does sound interesting! They certainly weren’t perfect in Greek mythology that’s for sure! I’ll definitely be adding this to my list, thank you! 🙂

    1. I know, I feel like I’m one of the last in the YA blogosphere to read them! I plan on trying to read the first book as soon as possible, as well as Red Pyramid, since my sister has it and is too busy with school to notice if I steal it. :p

  2. Several of these are on my TBR list too! And Vampire Academy and Before I Fall are both excellent. Hope you enjoy! 🙂 I’m a new follower.
    -Becky
    bibliophiling.blogspot.com

    1. I hope I enjoy them as well, especially since there’s quite a bit of hype about VA and I wasn’t a fan of Delirium. And thanks for following – hopefully you’ll see my reviews of some of these books soon!

  3. I whole-heartedly recommend Second Chance Summer (one of my all-time faves – both of Matson’s books are favorites of mine!) and also Before I Fall. While I really enjoyed Oliver’s Delirium trilogy (minus the last book), I liked Before I Fall even more. I LOVE Rick Riordan’s Percy series and I’ve read the first two of the Heroes of Olympus series, but I still need to start his Egyptian mythology series. My husband’s read all of Riordan’s books so far (and loves them); he’s actually the one who got me reading the Percy books in the first place, thank goodness! Great list. 🙂

    1. Yeah, Before I Fall sounds more like my thing than Delirium was, and I’m sure it and Second Chance Summer will both make me sad but hopefully happy as well!

      I’ve read all of Percy and Heroes of Olympus (well, all that he has released so far), so I’m definitely excited to see less-well-known gods, like Egyptian gods, and how he interprets them. I randomly saw the first Percy Jackson book at the library when I was in middle school and I am SO GLAD that I picked it up! I was hooked right away. 😀

Leave a Reply

