Mini-Reviews: August

MiniReviews

TheGirlIsMurderThis book was kind of a big deal for me because I had never heard of it and didn’t have it on my to-read shelf on Goodreads, but when I saw it and its sequel at the library, I decided to get it on a whim. This is a big deal for me ever since I started blogging! I never get books that I haven’t at least heard of at this point.

Anyway, this was a pretty decent book. Things got a little crazy toward the end, with protagonist Iris jumping from conclusion to conclusion without really thinking things through, and Iris wasn’t always my favorite character, but it wasn’t bad. I’m not a 1940s expert, so I couldn’t say where it’s authentic or not, but sometimes the lingo was a bit over the top, even though I was able to follow it for the most part.

My biggest issue comes down to whether or not Iris is very clever or really stupid. Many YA books focus on characters who do things that adults tell them not to or don’t go to adults for help because of reasons, but this was particularly frustrating for me with this book. Iris is only fifteen (she’s like halfway through sophomore year, I feel like she should be 16 already, but I’m one of the fall birthdays, so what do I know?) and her dad wasn’t around much before getting injured in Pearl Harbor, so Iris often thinks that she absolutely knows what’s right and thinks her dad will thank her when it’s all over, but it’s often obvious that she is in over her head. Is this a sign I’m getting too old?! Am I starting to see that teenagers are sometimes idiots even though I’m still a teenager?!

Anyway, decent enough book and made me pick up the sequel.

3.5stars

TheGirlIsTroubleI picked up the sequel almost right after I finished the first book, but then I kind of stalled. It wasn’t that it was a bad book, it was just that I didn’t feel like reading it. I decided it would be my side book and read about a chapter a day in between reading various other books. For a little while, the chapter a day thing was working, but then I got a bit behind and less and less interested because I had all of these other books I was reading much more regularly.

Finally, I decided I wasn’t going to finish this book anytime soon and really wasn’t that interested in it, so I decided to stop. I skipped to the end and skimmed it to see what happened and didn’t feel that I was missing out on too much. I was relieved to no longer have so many books on my currently-reading list on Goodreads, which is probably a sign that DNF-ing this book was a good idea.

So, it wasn’t that this was a bad book, it was just that I had so many other books I wanted to read and got out of the mood I think I needed to be in if I wanted to read this book. I don’t think I’ll try it again in the future, but that’s just because I have so many other book to read. Fans of historical and mystery books might get into these books a lot easier than I did.

3.5stars

LucyVariationsI’m a pretty big Sara Zarr fan, so I was so disappointed when I DNF-ed this book. It wasn’t that this book was bad or anything, I just wasn’t interested in it and it kind of felt like a chore to finish it.

MC Lucy was my main problem with it. I didn’t really sympathize with her, whether it was her family drama or her slight internal tantrum when her favorite teacher kicked her out of class for being late one too many times. I mean, come on, why can’t you freaking get to class on time? Why can’t you freaking get to class on time when you have time to get coffee to take to class?! It’s not like she has no way to get to school or anything – her mom drives her. She comes from a pretty privileged family – she can afford an alarm clock! So, yeah, she kind of annoyed me. Especially when it seemed like she might be developing a crush on her brother’s older and married piano teacher and that he might reciprocate it.

So, with that relationship developing and my interest waining – where’s the interesting family drama? I don’t care about your love life! – I finally decided to give up. I still plan on checking out Sara Zarr’s future books, though, because she really is a great writer!

2.5stars

CharmedThirdsI was disappointed to be so uninterested in the pretty much universally beloved series about Jessica Darling, but I just couldn’t get into it. I kept trying the future books (don’t ask why, not really sure), but I finally decided to cut my losses and quit somewhere during the third book in this five book series.

I was feeling just as frustrated with Jessica’s slut shaming and judgmental attitude throughout this book as normal, but when Jessica started going on about former Miss America Vanessa Williams’ “creepy lesbo pictures” or something, I decided I was done.

This series isn’t for me. Plenty of people love them and I certainly don’t hold anything against them because obviously it’s just me, but this series is just not my thing.

2.5stars

YouLookDifferentinRealLifeI really wanted to finish this book because it’s a sophomore book, but I just couldn’t. I listened to two whole hours on audiobook and still wasn’t in it, so I decided two hours was plenty to hook me.

I think the audiobook was the main reason I didn’t finish this. I think I’m doing with trying audiobooks because I have yet to like one. Hearing the dialogue out loud seems to make it less authentic to me and more cheesy. Listening to the same person for hours, someone who tries multiple voices to differentiate people but instead annoys me because the secondary characters’ voices can be a tad obnoxious… it’s just too much.

The story also didn’t really engage me, but ultimately I think it comes down to me not being a fan of audiobooks. Except for Harry Potter, though – I love the guy who narrates them. Can’t remember what he sounds like, but I know he’s awesome.

2.5stars

ShesSoMoneyI decided to do a mini review for this book because I’ve already read it but just wanted to quickly put a spotlight on it. This is an older book, but it is really hilarious. I reread it in less than a day, and sure, it’s not too long, a little less than 300 pages, I believe, but still!

There was a little more slut shaming than I remember, but it wasn’t as big a problem as others. This is mainly because the characters who were slut shamed were looked on more favorably by the end. MC Maya was judgmental of them before she knew them, but then she actually started enjoying spending time with them shopping and such. No slut shaming would be best, but slut shaming characters that get further developed later definitely helps.

So, yes, hilarious and quick read if you just want something fun for an afternoon or two. I really hope author Cherry Cheva writes more! She only has one other book and it came out a couple years ago.

4.5stars

One thought on “Mini-Reviews: August

Leave a Reply

