New Reads (September and October 2013)

NewReads

LeapofFaith Antigoddess

Leap of Faith by Jamie Blair (September 3, 2013)

This is a 2013 debut that I haven’t heard much about, but it sounds interesting enough: the main character is a seventeen year old pretending to be a nineteen year old so that she can live alone with the baby she claims is hers but she really kidnapped. She came from a bad home, so I’m interested to see why she kidnapped this baby – I initially figured the baby was a much-younger sibling, but now I don’t know but hope to find out.

Antigoddess by Kendare Blake (September 10, 2013)

Kendare Blake is the author of Anna Dressed in Blood and its sequel, but this is her first non-Anna book. It involves mythological people, if you can’t tell from the “goddess” in the title, which is a very tricky subject for me since I love mythology a lot and can be pretty picky about mythology-related books, but hopefully I’ll enjoy this as much as her Anna books.

UnitedWeSpy CherryMoneyBaby

United We Spy by Ally Carter (September 10, 2013)

Ah, the last Gallagher Girls book! I’m both excited and scared about it and seeing how it all ends for Cammie and her fellow spies. If you haven’t checked out these books, you should. They’re definitely aimed at all young adult readers, not just older YA readers, with their lack of curse words and sexual content, but they’re really enjoyable for any age as long as you love spies!

Cherry Money Baby by John M. Cusick (September 10, 2013)

I can’t remember for sure where I heard about this book, but it sounds like an interesting look at what happens when Hollywood and Smalltown USA mix, which is a topic I tend to enjoy reading about even if I don’t always like admitting it…

WickedWithin ThisSongWillSaveYourLife

The Wicked Within by Kelly Keaton (September 17, 2013)

This is the last book in the Gods & Monsters trilogy, I believe, following Darkness Becomes Her and A Beautiful Evil. For some reason Goodreads doesn’t have a summary, but I’ve read and enjoyed for the most part the first two books, so I plan on checking out this series that, as you can guess from the series name, mixes mythology and the supernatural.

This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales (September 17, 2013)

I haven’t read any of Leila Sales’s other books, but I’ve been hearing a lot of gushing about this pretty-covered book that focuses on a high school misfit that finally finds her place in the underground DJ scene. Sounds pretty interesting to me…

WheretheStarsStillShine GoodbyeRebelBlue

Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller (September 24, 2013)

Trish Doller wrote the 2013 debut Something Like Normal, a book about a soldier back home that I enjoyed for the most part, and I’ve already heard plenty of raving reviews for this sophomore effort. This might only be Doller’s second book, but it’s hard to tell with how obsessed the YA blogosphere seems to be with her, so I really hope I enjoy it as much as everyone else. It certainly sounds interesting – the main character’s mother kidnapped her and she’s finally back home and needs to learn how to live a normal life for the first time in ten years.

Goodbye, Rebel Blue by Shelley Coriell (October 1, 2013)

A girl known as Rebel decides to complete the bucket list of a dead girl? Sounds a bit creepy but totally interesting, and it’s a sophomore book! I haven’t read Shelley Coriell’s first book, but if this book turns out well I just might.

HouseofHades JustOneYear

The House of Hades by Rick Riordan (October 8, 2013)

This is the fourth book in Rick Riordan’s Greek-and-Roman-mythology-extravaganza series, Heroes of Olympus, and finds some of our heroes in, you guessed it, the Underworld. Should be quite interesting…

Just One Year by Gayle Forman (October 10, 2013)

This is the sequel to Just One Day, which came out early this year and instantly became a blogosphere obsession. While I didn’t love it as much as Gayle Forman’s earlier If I Stay and Where She Went, I am quite interested to see Willem’s point of view after seeing Allyson’s adventures in the first book. Oh, and the cover got slightly tweaked (really just the typography) but this matches the first cover that I’ve used on here for various posts, so gash darn it I’m going to use this cover! Yes, I have a minor problem…

And that’s it for September and October books. There are plenty of other books to keep an eye out for, but these are the books that I’m looking forward to and that I hope live up to my sometimes-high and sometimes-low expectations!

Leave a Reply

