Monthly Rewind: August

MonthlyRewind

Song of the Month: Lorde – Royals

Much like last month’s song, this was a song I randomly heard on the radio and immediately loved. It sounded pretty different from a lot of songs on the radio right now and I seem to have an obsession with British singers, so I guess it’s really no surprise that I enjoy it so much! (Actually, she is from New Zealand, just looked it up. Oops. Let me change that to: I have an obsession with not-from-America singers!)

Top Books Read

1. Golden (Jessi Kirby) This book has been super popular in the blogosphere lately, so I was really excited when I got my hands on it! While I didn’t absolutely love it like some people, I really, really enjoyed it and definitely think it’s my favorite Jessi Kirby book so far. I look forward to her other books!

2. Nantucket Blue (Leila Howland) This is an unusual one for this list because I only gave it a 3.5, but I really did enjoy it. The main reason it got a lower rating is because of slut shaming and the MC’s obsession with appearances. This book was actually pretty memorable, though, and I did enjoy it in the end.

3. My Life Next Door (Huntley Fitzpatrick) I was surprised with just how much I loved this book. My review is mainly gushing about it and ignoring any shortcomings because, to be honest, they just didn’t register to me while I was reading it. If you want to read a very informative review of it, you should probably skip my review, but if you want to share in a declaration of love for it, check it out!

4. She’s So Money (Cherry Cheva) This is an old favorite that I reread in one day. There was a bit more slut shaming than I remembered, but since the characters who received the slut shaming seemed to get fleshed out and shown in a better light by the end, I didn’t mind it nearly as much.

Books I’m Excited About

DistanceBetweenUs Ruby1

I still need to read The Distance Between Us, but since I’m now back at school and don’t have easy access to a library (at least my local library – don’t know if my school library has recent YA books), I’m going to get the chance to reread some of my own books. First, though, I’m going to read this – then I’m going to finally reread Ruby Oliver! Very excited!

Upcoming Releases I’m Excited About

Antigoddess UnitedWeSpy ThisSongWillSaveYourLife WheretheStarsStillShine

Lots of great books coming out this month! I was initially really nervous for mythology-heavy Antigoddess, but then I started to see reviews from people who apparently are as picky with mythology as I am yet loved the book, so I’m more hopeful now! And the last Gallagher Girls book comes out this month! And I’ve been hearing a lot of great things about both This Song Will Save Your Life and Where the Stars Still Shine, so I’m excited for both of them!

A Goal for September

I just want to keep up despite school starting again. At this point, I’ve already had a week of class, but the first week is never as busy as later weeks seem to get, so we’ll see how it goes. I’m starting a five-day instead of six-day posting schedule (Sat, Sun, Tu, Wed, Th), so we’ll see how that works out. Hopefully everyone will stick with me even if posting gets uneven sometimes!

Leave a Reply

