Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favorite Books With X Setting

TopTenTuesday

For this TTT, I chose “Small Town” for my setting; when I say small town, I mean books that really feel like they’re in a small town, with plenty of people who know each other and only a few places to hang out (which one character, main or secondary, happens to own or work at). Of course, I kind of cheated on my own choice, but I think all ten ultimately work…

A big part of the trilogy (well, mostly the first book – they kind of leave Salmon Creek by the second book) is the small town that protagonist Maya and her friends grew up in. It’s a very small town built around a pharmaceutical business that seems to be hiding things; because they grew up in such a small and special town, it really affects the characters, their personalities, their relationships, and their ability to survive through all the craziness of the trilogy.

I don’t think Ruby necessarily lived in a really small town, but she did attend a small private school, which is like an even smaller and scarier version of a town. You have the same basic people who you’ve been going to school with for most of your school career, which means it’s much harder to outgrow the things people remember about you from when you were young.

The small beach town of Bishop Rock is quirky and interesting and the perfect place for Clara and her dad to disappear to when they need to get away from her obsessed ex-boyfriend. There are plenty of interesting characters in the town and it stirs up old secrets, as small towns seem to do.

This isn’t a real small town either, but the Sunset Towers that acts as the main setting for this book certainly works as a small town. Only four (or five – need to reread!) stories tall, it has quite a few families crammed into close quarters, especially when they’re all competing for the ultimate prize in the Westing Game. Of course, their possible discomfort is our gain because they are fascinating and you get to follow all of their interesting stories as they go about their business in Sunset Towers and the neighboring Westing manor.

I just read this, which definitely helps the small town that acts as the main setting remain fresh in my mind. The small setting definitely contributes to the story – because Parker lives in a small town, the death of Julianna and her boyfriend ten years earlier have a big effect on the town and it also contributes to Parker’s hope to get out and see the world and make something of her “one wild and precious life.”

The small town that Suze moves to sounds like an adorable place to live in. Suze is a big city girl, so she-of-the-black-and-leather (and the occasional dark-colored skirt and dress, because Suze is actually OK with and enjoys dressing up when she feels like it, unlike some not-like-other-girls YA protagonists of recent books; sorry, end rant) has some interesting clashes with the bright and colorful California town that introduces her to plenty of interesting characters, alive and dead alike.

Clare also lives in a small beach town, only hers is on the other coast, which seems to give off a different mood with its setting. It also means that pretty much everyone in the town knows Clare’s family and their powers, which can lead to problems and more exposure than she would like.

Delilah returns to the small town that her mother grew up in and she used to visit during the summer. Old memories and the fact that it’s a small tourist town definitely contribute to the overall vibe of the story.

Jackson Hole, the main setting of the first two books and the partial setting of the final book in this series, kind of seems to be its own character. It’s a small-ish but popular and rich seeming town, complete with its own theater, owned by Clara’s friend’s mother. The author went to and researched the town before writing the book, I think, and I believe that helps really bring it to life.

The small town of Rosewood would definitely fit this category, but I think the Gallagher Academy fits it even better. It’s a huge castle, but that still means that each grade probably only has about 20 or 25 girls top, which means it can be quite claustrophobic and it’s difficult to keep anything a secret for long. It also helps that everyone is united in the secret of the school and the world it plays a big part in.

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favorite Books With X Setting

  1. I have only read The Mediator books out of all the ones you listed here! They also made my list. I seriously love that series. It’s so original, and still awesome, even though it finished a while ago. Did you know Cabot is writing more books in the series? 🙂

    1. I did hear that, and I’m both really excited and really nervous that I won’t like them as much or that it’ll change something, but I’ll definitely check them out! In the meantime, though, I can just reread all the first six. 😀

    1. I hope you like Stay, Golden, and Unearthly! And I am definitely excited for the last Gallagher Girls book – I want everything to end well, but at the same time I don’t want the series to end at all, even if it means more bad things have to happen to poor Cammie!

  2. Twins! I also showcased books set in small towns. I really love when books take place in a smaller town. I love the atmosphere for a small place.

    I didn’t think of The Gallgher Girls or Unearthly. Great picks. I love those books. Clarity made it onto my list, too, though. I love the setting for these. The beach tourist town.

    1. I’ll have to check out your list and see all the small towns I neglected! I live in a small-ish town, but it’s never nearly as interesting as the small towns in books! 😀

      Yeah, I was kind of reaching in some cases, but ultimately I was trying to think up books with the whole small-town vibe, even if it wasn’t actually a small town. Some books certainly fit the category easier than others!

    1. Small towns always seem to have a cool atmosphere and some deep dark secrets, so definitely can’t go wrong with them! I like rereading the Mediator summer basically every summer as something fun and quick – they always seem to make me laugh even when I practically have them memorized!

    1. And I went to your TTT and tried to comment on it, but it didn’t work for some reason, so I’ll just post my comment here. Sorry about that!

      Harry Potter! I’m sure J.K. Rowling could publish nothing but history books about her wizarding world with no plot whatsoever and I would totally read them just to know more about her complex and interesting world! I also want to read the Alice in Wonderland books and finally finish the Chronicles of Narnia books – I’ve only read The Magician’s Nephew and The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, so I’m a bit behind!

    1. Yeah, I live in a small-ish town, so I definitely feel a connection to this setting! Golden doesn’t have a huge emphasis on the small town setting, but I think it really affects the story, which is definitely interesting. I hope you like it!

Leave a Reply

