The Perpetual Page-Turner’s “A to Z Survey”!

AtoZSurvery

Last Friday, Jamie at The Perpetual Page-Turner posted the “A to Z Survey,” a survey she made to get back into the love of blogging and to bring her back to her Xanga and MySpace days; it looked like a fun way to pass a Monday, so here are my bookish A to Z answers!

Author You’ve Read the Most Books From:

Meg Cabot! She barely wins with a whopping twenty-three books, and I haven’t even read all of her YA books!

Best Sequel Ever:

I had trouble coming up with the best sequel, so it’s a tie between Skulduggery Pleasant: Playing With Fire and The Boy Book; I’m not sure either of these books are better than the first books in the series, but they both continue the awesomeness of their previous books and made it clear that I wanted to continue these series.

Currently Reading:

While I write this, I’m currently reading Wild Awake, a 2013 debut that I’ve heard some good things about; however, since today is Saturday and this goes up on Monday, there’s a good chance I’ll have moved on to another 2013 debut, The Rules of Disappearing, which is about the witness protection program. All in all, interesting new debuts!

Drink of Choice While Reading:

Water. Yeah, I’m totally not a coffee drinker, and I’ve never tried tea, so I don’t know if I’m a tea drinker. I do like hot chocolate, but I normally read while in bed or curled up on the couch, and water tends to be the only drink of choice that I take out of the kitchen. So, yay water!

E-Reader or Physical Book?

I definitely prefer physical books, but my Nook is nice to have at college. I don’t buy ebooks, though – I only borrow them from my library’s ebook website. If I like a book enough to buy it, then I buy a physical copy, either paperback or hardback.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated in High School:

No one immediately pops to mind, but Cricket from Lola and the Boy Next Door was mentioned in Jamie’s original survey, and he’s definitely the type of guy I prefer. I like guys who are funny and quirky more than hot, good-looking, and hot; unfortunately, most YA love interests lately seem to be hot with a bit of cockiness and perhaps some funny one-liners, but Cricket was much more than that. And a nerd to boot, which I actually prefer.

Glad You Gave This Book a Chance:

There are a lot of books I wouldn’t have tried without getting into the blogging world, but the Ruby Oliver quartet has got to be one of the biggest “so freaking glad I gave this book a chance” book. NEED TO REREAD.

Hidden Gem Book:

The Westing Game and She’s So Money tend to be the books that always pop up when I talk about favorite books, fun books, and other various lists, and yet I so rarely hear other people talk about them, which is really quite a shame.

Important Moment in Your Reading Life:

Finding the book blogging world has definitely changed my reading life. I’ve always been a reader and even during the less-reading-years, I still read more than the average person. Finding book blogs, however, opened me up to new books I wouldn’t have tried, both old and new, and taught me about things like slut shaming, and plenty of other great things. Even if I hadn’t had started my own blog, just reading other blogs would have changed my reading life.

Just Finished:

As of now, I just finished Nantucket Blue last night. It had its issue, mainly slut shaming, but I ultimately did enjoy it and plan on checking out future books from the author.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:

I tend to only read YA, but I want to start at least checking out some of the more popular adult books (not trying to be a book snob or anything, I just figure it’ll be easier to check out reviews from people I trust if they’re more well-known. That being said, I don’t plan on checking out the purely romance books. I will admit that I sometimes enjoy reading fan fiction that are basically amateur romance novels, but I think the main reason I like those types of stories is because they’re about characters I already know. I don’t know if I would want to read a purely romantic story about characters I don’t know. In a few years I might change my mind, but as of now I think I’m fine without reading them.

Longest Book You’ve Read:

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, clocking in at 870 pages.

Major Book Hangover Because Of:

I’m sure there are plenty of books that have given me quasi-book hangovers, but only one book comes to mind that might count: If I Stay. At least, I remember that after I finished it, late at night, I couldn’t go to sleep and had to think about it while taking a long shower even though it was late and I had school the next day and I really needed to get to sleep.

Number of Bookcases You Own:

2 and a half. The two full bookcases go together, so I often think of them as one wide bookcase, but they’re really two separate bookcases. The half a bookshelf is about half the size, thus the half-ness. Not all of the shelves are full of books, however – I have plenty of assorted books, such as yearbooks, old children’s books, and non-YA books; small statues and trinkets; and other assorted non-book things.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:

I actually reread books a lot, but I think the Mediator series by Meg Cabot might be the most reread book(s) by me – at least, I think I could come up with most of the plot and quite a few details of all six books despite having last reread them last summer.

Preferred Place to Read:

In bed, whether I’m about to go to sleep or just have some free time during the day. I prefer lying down in bed, either with background music or not. If I can’t be in bed, then I just want somewhere comfortable to sit, such as the couches in my family’s living room. Really, I just need some place comfy.

Quote That Inspires You/Gives You All the Feels From a Book You’ve Read:

I love quote-able writing, but I don’t actually keep track of quotes I like. However, when I recently read Golden, there was a quote that caught my eye and I quickly wrote it in my phone. It doesn’t really inspire me or “give me all the feels,” but it was a pretty cool quote and meaningful if you’ve read the whole book:

On clear winter nights the constellation Orion hangs perfectly framed in my window, and beyond him a backdrop of sky dotted so dense with stars it looks like sugar spilled across the night.

– Golden, page 34

Reading Regret:

I guess the closest thing I have to a reading regret is that I don’t talk to my friends about reading more. There are plenty of times I want to talk about books I love or things that tick me off or things that make me cry or at least tear up, but I don’t talk to my friends about them. Some of them consider themselves big readers, but I don’t think any of my friends read nearly as much as I do, and so many of them seem to prefer classics such as Jane Austen, which isn’t really my thing. I think I need to find a local book club, but until then I’ll just continue ranting and raving and capslocking (OK, I don’t actually capslock that much in reviews, but WHATEVER) here.

Series You Started and Need to Finish (All the Books Are Out in Series):

There are plenty of trilogies I’m in the midst of reading, but most of those don’t have all the books out and seem too short to count, so I have a series that I haven’t started but plan on checking out: Vampire Academy. I know loads of bloggers have read and enjoyed this series, but I have yet to try it out. I hope to read all of it, but we’ll see how well the first book goes first!

Three of Your All-Time Favorite Books:

Oh, God, how to choose. Hmm… I guess I’ll go with Impossible, Ruby Oliver (yep, counting it all as one, because they NEED TO BE ON THIS LIST), and… Skulduggery Pleasant (again, counting as one series). There are plenty of other books that I love, but these popped into my head almost immediately, so they get the great honor of being my all-time favorites!

Unapologetic Fangirl For:

I guess Ruby Oliver tends to be the series that I WILL NOT SHUT UP about, but I don’t know if there are any books I fangirl about in my regular day to day life with people I know. I need more book people in real life!

Very Excited For This Release More Than All the Others:

Ooh, this is tough. Hmm, I guess I’m going to have to go with… the final Gallagher Girls novel, United We Spy, which comes out September 17th! Both excited and scared to see how this series will end.

Worst Bookish Habit:

I feel like I don’t have any, but I’m sure that if other people observed my bookish habits then they would come up with a few bad habits. Something I’m aware of, though… hmm, I guess I’m not always as gentle with books as I should be, which is really quite surprising since I’m a tad OCD about books. Despite this, I often stick them into backpacks or throw them onto couches and don’t pay attention to how pages get folded over and such. Luckily (for me, anyway), this seems to happen more with library books. Which probably is another bad habit…

X Marks the Spot: Start At the Top Left of Your Shelf and Pick the 27th Book:

Well, if you count books the way I organize them, then the first Mediator book, Shadowland, is the 27th book; however, I count the top shelf of both of my matching bookcases as the same shelf, so if you count the 27th book on the left-most shelf, then it’s Heist Society.

Of course, I’m probably the only one who cares that much…

Your Latest Book Purchase:

I don’t buy that many books, but lately I’ve been taking advantage of my Barnes and Noble membership and its various coupons to buy a few things. I just bought the new paperback of Lola and the Boy Next Door last week, and a few weeks before that took a chance on a book I’d never read, The Distance Between Us, which I’ve heard plenty of good things about, enjoyed when I read the first chapter and a half online, and plan on reading once my stack of library books gets smaller.

ZZZ-snatcher Book (Last Book That Kept You Up WAY Late):

Just Listen, although that was partially because my dad snores REALLY LOUDLY and I was stuck in a hotel room with me and knew I wouldn’t fall asleep until I was about ready to drop from exhaustion.

Well, that was fun! It’s nice to take a break from regularly scheduled things like reviews and memes and try something new but still book-related!

Leave a Reply

