Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Wish Could Have Had Sequels

TopTenTuesday

I’m not the type of person who needs a sequel for everything; sure, I love reading series, but I also enjoy stand alones that wrap things up in just one book. So, these are books that I wouldn’t mind having sequels but are perfectly fine without; after all, why would I want the great characters from these books have to go through more troubles and worries?

NeedSequel1

Lock and Key (Sarah Dessen)

Like the other two Sarah Dessen books on this list, I really liked the characters in this book. Even though the ending left the characters well and happy, I wouldn’t mind reading further to see what happened to them after the events. (SPOILERS) How is Ruby’s little niece or nephew? How’s her relationship with Nate? How’s her brother-in-law’s (whose name escapes me at the moment) social media website going? How are things in general? These are things I want to know!

Lola and the Boy Next Door (Stephanie Perkins)

Again, it’s the characters! I know most people love Anna and Etienne more, but Lola and Cricket are my favorite Stephanie Perkins duo. Of course, there is more to this book, namely a best friend that I actually like, a bio mom who begins to change (or completely changes, can’t remember for sure), and one of the best if not the best two gay fathers I’ve ever seen in a YA book.

NeedSequel2

The Rivals (Daisy Whitney)

I’m putting the sequel on here since it is a sequel and it’s the book that seems to be the end. The underground network of student justice found in these books are really interested and I would love to see how they handle other problems with varying levels of moral grey areas, but alas that doesn’t seem destined to happen.

Peace, Love, and Baby Ducks (Lauren Myracle)

This standalone book had a great sister relationship, one with its ups and downs, and I would be really interested in seeing what’s happened to these sisters since this book. Plus, the adorable baby ducks.

NeedSequel3

Beauty Queens (Libba Bray)

Yes, the story was perfectly resolved in this book, but I would be a bit interested to see what happens to these newly-aware beauty queens now that they’re off the island. The first book managed to pack a lot of social issues into it, yet I feel like Libba Bray could still find more things to talk about in a sequel.

Stay (Deb Caletti)

Again, I’d be interested to see what’s happened to this characters. I’d like to see if Christian has really left Clara alone or if she’s still struggling to overcome that past relationship. I’d like to see Clara and her father’s new life in Bishop Rock and maybe get the chance to actually meet some of the people from their former life, like Clara’s best friend who was often mentioned and sometimes made an appearance via flashback or phone call but didn’t have a huge part.

NeedSequel4

Just Listen (Sarah Dessen)

I would love to know what’s happening with the characters now that the book has ended.

The Truth About Forever (Sarah Dessen)

Ditto. Sorry for such a short explanation, but that’s the reason I want some of Sarah Dessen’s books to continue – I want to reconnect with some of her best characters!

NeedSequel5

The Book of Broken Hearts (Sarah Ockler)

I just read this book, but I could already use a sequel. Well, that’s not necessarily true. I don’t want a sequel because I know it’ll probably be even sadder because Jude’s father’s Alzheimer’s will just continue to develop, but I would like a prequel where we get to see the dynamic between Jude and her sisters even more. And if you want some romance, it can always occur during a various Vargas boy drama.

The Friday Society (Adrienne Kress)

I know people have been getting annoyed with paranormal series lately, but this is a semi-paranormal standalone that I really wish had a sequel. I think the end of the book perfectly set up the possibility of continuing the girls’ adventures and seeing what they’ll do now that they’re together and better than ever.


2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Wish Could Have Had Sequels

Leave a comment