Monthly Rewind: July

MonthlyRewind

Most Popular Song On My iPod: The Neighbourhood – Sweater Weather

I heard this on the radio sometime near the beginning of the month and loved it. Normally I wait a few months after I first hear and love a song before buying it on iTunes to make sure I don’t get sick or bored of it, but when I was buying some new music for my trip, I went ahead and bought this because I loved it so much. Haven’t gotten sick of it yet, so there’s plenty of hope!

Top Books Read

1. Unravel Me (Tahereh Mafi) This book didn’t blow me away and I had some minor complaints about it, but nearly two weeks after reading, I still think about it occasionally and am properly excited for the third and final book, so that’s good enough for me to include it in the top books.

2. Siege and Storm (Leigh Bardugo) Like Unravel Me, this book had some minor issues, but at the end of the day I was flying through it to see what would happen next and it was a fairly enjoyable read with some awesome characters (Sturmhond! I am officially a fan!), and that’s great in my book.

3. The Book of Broken Hearts (Sarah Ockler) I’ve had some bad experiences with Sarah Ockler’s books in the past (i.e. I was not a fan of Twenty Boy Summer at all, which seems to be everyone’s favorite), but after the promising and earlier book of hers, Fixing Delilah, which wasn’t too bad, I had a little bit of hope coming into this book, and was happy with how much it impressed me, especially considering some of the problems I had with it. Prepare for a very, very long review about it, but not in a bad way. (Review coming soon)

4. Just Listen (Sarah Dessen) After a string of less-than-impressive books from Sarah Dessen (not necessarily bad, just not as great as the first ones I read from her), I was starting to worry that I had read all of the books I would like from her, but this one luckily changed that for me and I ended up staying up late to read it (although that was also because my dad snores really freaking loudly and I can’t fall asleep with it). (Review coming soon)

Books I’m Excited About

DistanceBetweenUs Golden

I had a coupon for Barnes and Noble, so I decided to take a chance and buy a book I hadn’t read before, The Distance Between Us, which just came out. Kasie West’s Pivot Point was a decent enough debut for me (currently one of my favorites, but that’s not saying much – I haven’t had much luck with debuts this year), I heard raves about this book, and I read and really enjoyed the first chapter and a half online, so I have moderately high hopes for this. Please be worth my money! And, as for Golden, I have yet to see anyone give it less than 4 stars (I’m sure there are people out there who don’t like it, but I haven’t seen any) and I enjoyed Jessi Kirby’s first two books, so fingers crossed!

Upcoming Releases I’m Excited About

BetweentheDevilandtheDeepBlueSea

I saw some early raving reviews about this book and it sounds really interesting, but I did see a less than impressed review recently, so I’m both excited and nervous for this new debut.

A Goal for August

To make a smooth transition from summer blogging to school blogging. I already have a new schedule in mind for September, so we’ll see how that goes, and I hope to have regular updates the whole month, despite starting school about halfway through it.

Leave a Reply

