Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far in 2013

TopTenTuesday

BestBooksSoFar

1. The Diviners (Libba Bray)

I’ve always been a big fan of Libba Bray, and luckily her new series has started out well and has only increased my love of her books. Anxiously awaiting the sequel, which comes out next year, I believe. Like her Gemme Doyle books, this book really immerses you in the time period (the Roaring Twenties) and has plenty of supernatural mischief and such. If you’re a fan of Libba Bray’s past books, you’ll probably enjoy this one as well.

2. Out of the Easy (Ruta Sepetys)

Wow, for someone who tends to shy away from historical fiction books, I sure seemed to like the ones that I did read this year. This book takes place in the 1950s, a time period you don’t seem to see much, at least in YA, although it doesn’t feel as dated as stories from really specific time periods (the Gilded Age, Victorian, Roaring Twenties, Great Depression, etc). The characters were interesting, as well as the story, and even though I try to avoid Holocaust books because I know they’ll make me really, really sad since it’s a real event even if the stories aren’t, I might have to check out Ruta Sepetys’ first book, Between Shades of Gray.

3. Perfect Scoundrels (Ally Carter)

The third book in the Heist Society series is just as interesting as the past books. Kat and Hale’s relationship took an interesting turn at the end of the second book, and their relationship continued to develop in interesting ways during this book. There were some nice twists at the end and we got better looks at some characters that had been merely in the background before. I really hope there are more books in the series in the hopes that more characters will be developed in future books.

4. The Truth About Forever (Sarah Dessen)

My first Sarah Dessen book has remained one of my favorites (of course, at this point, I’ve only read three, but that’s beside the point). The main character, her job, her family issues, and her various relationships all interested me. I was in a bit of a reading slump when I read this, if I remember correctly, but I read this book fairly quickly and happily.

5. Lock and Key (Sarah Dessen)

And here’s my second Sarah Dessen book. I liked it for much of the same reasons that I liked my first Dessen book. It seemed to have the same formula, yet the characters and the story itself were different enough that I could have cared less. I’m really starting to see why Sarah Dessen is such a staple of the YA community.

6. The Friday Society (Adrienne Kress)

This book had an interesting-sounding premise and I read a pretty favorable review before reading it, but I was surprised with how much I liked this book. It’s pretty long, but it went by so quickly and I wouldn’t have minded if it went on even longer. Nellie is definitely my favorite character, but I like reading about all the girls and many of the secondary characters. There were a lot of different storylines all combined together and some definitely got more attention than others, but they all worked together fairly well.

7. Out of Sight, Out of Time (Ally Carter)

I finally managed to get my hands on the fifth and second-to-last book of the Gallagher Girls series and, even though it was frustrating how long it took to find it, I’m kind of glad that I read it later and don’t have to wait as long to see what’ll happen in the last book, which comes out this fall!

8. Just One Day (Gayle Forman)

This book didn’t wow me quite like If I Stay and Where She Went, but it was still another great book from Gayle Forman. Protagonist Allyson was a bit annoying during the middle of the book but this book made me want to go back to France and explore other places in Europe and be an independant and fun-loving college student (well, I wouldn’t call Allyson very fun-loving, but it still made me want to be).

9. The Dead and Buried (Kim Harrington)

I really enjoyed Kim Harrington’s Clarity and Perception, but was a little worried that I wouldn’t be as interested in an unrelated and standalone book. Luckily for me, I did enjoy this book quite a bit, from its gemstone-loving protagonist named Jade to her family’s haunted house. Makes me quite hopeful for Harrington’s future books.

10. Moonglass/In Honor (Jessi Kirby)

Moonglass was on my TBR list for a while before I finally decided to drop it and not bother, but then I decided to read In Honor and figured I might as well read Moonglass as well, and I was surprised by how much I enjoyed them. They were both quite sad and short, but they have me really excited for the (already) much-beloved Golden, which recently came out.

*Bonus* The Rising (Kelley Armstrong)

The main reason this book didn’t make the official Top Ten and the totally awesome, obviously-took-me-hours-to-make graphic is because I just finished it on Sunday morning (and by morning, I mean 3am) and I made said graphic and list earlier in the week. I decided to just add it as a bonus rather than get rid of another one and remake the graphic. The Rising was a great conclusion to a series that I love and has me hoping for more books that take place in its universe.

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far in 2013

  1. I should read another Sarah Dessen, I haven’t for a couple years and they are great Summer reads. Also The Friday Society (Adrienne Kress) sounds interesting, I’ll have to check it out. Happy Reading.

    1. The Friday Society was a great surprise for me – if you like historical books that don’t take themselves as seriously and a bunch of girls running around solving a mystery together, then there’s a good chance you’ll at least enjoy it!

    1. Oh, thanks!

      Ally Carter’s books are quite fun – I’m really excited about the new series she just announced, sounds like another fun one!

  2. I adored Out Of the Easy, even more than her debut novel (which seems to be the unpopular opinion). I’m glad you liked it, too! Lock and Key is probably my favorite Dessen book so far (I’ve read three). Happy reading!

    1. I haven’t read her first book yet, since I know it’ll be too sad for me to handle right now, but I know that a lot of people did enjoy it.

      I’ve read four Sarah Dessen books now, and Truth and Lock and Key are definitely still my favorites so far!

    1. I’m definitely glad Truth About Forever was my first Sarah Dessen book since I really enjoyed it. If you like her books, I feel like you’ll at least enjoy Out of the Easy as well because it also has some great secondary characters and a partially character-driven story, which seems to be part of Dessen’s formula as well.

    1. On one hand I want it (and Lock and Key) to remain my favorites since they were my first two books from her, but I wouldn’t mind discovering more favorites from her!

  3. Oh, I do love Sarah Dessen. I haven’t included any in my TTT this week because it’s been more than six months since I read one of her books! I had better get myself down to to bookshop I think.

    1. I have a feeling I’m going to have quite a few Sarah Dessen books on end-of-the-year lists as well because I’m (happily) forcing myself to read as many of her books this year, since I never have. I’m definitely glad that I decided to try her books and I’ll probably have to go to the bookstore as well to get my hands on some of my new favorites from her!

  4. Looooove Sarah Dessen. I’m currently reading The Moon and More and love it! And Libba Bray is a wonder — have you read A Great and Terrible Beauty? It’s by far one of my most favourite books. That being said, I haven’t read The Diviners yet, but it’s on my list. Actually, a lot of the books you’ve mentioned I haven’t read yet, but I simply must check out Out of the Easy and Just One Day (or anything by Gayle Forman). Great list!

    1. Yep, A Great and Terrible Beauty was my first exposure to Libba Bray, back in middle school. Quite a few of my classmates read the books as well as one of our teachers, so it was fun getting the chance to talk about it in person.

      I feel like many of these Best of 2013 So Far lists have loads of books I haven’t read but plan on doing so, so it makes me even more excited to read these apparently-amazing books!

Leave a Reply

