All the Books (47)

AlltheBooks

BOOKS I’M READING

9780142415566_AlongForTheR_CV.indd

I just started this this morning, so I’m not very far so far. It’s my fourth Sarah Dessen book and sounds interesting, although I’m worried slightly because Renae of Respiring Thoughts read this book this week and posted about some problems with it, namely that the main character is one of those girls who seems to hate girls who are “girls,” aka like boys and dresses and makeup and such. I’m not a very girly girl, but I don’t like looking down on girls who are, so hopefully it’s less of a problem for me and the main character learns from her mistakes. Hopefully, since I’ve had good experiences with Dessen so far and I don’t want that to change.

BOOKS I’VE READ

ShadesofEarth 9780142401767_KeepingTheMo_CV.indd Ruining TheGathering TheCalling TheRising

Wow, a lot of books this week. That means each gets its own paragraph of description, because I’m sure everyone is totally interested! Of course, if you aren’t, you would skip a shorter paragraph anyway, so it doesn’t really matter. Anyway…

Sad to say that the Across the Universe trilogy ended badly for me. Shades of Earth had its good parts, but overall I was disappointed and frustrated throughout most of it. Maybe I should blame the ever-changing covers before the series was even finished…

Keeping the Moon is my third Sarah Dessen book, and although I didn’t love it as much as The Truth About Forever and Lock and Key, but it was still pretty good and yet again has me excited to check out the rest of her books.

The Ruining has turned out to be my third DNF of the year, as well as probably my third DNF in years (as long as you don’t count school books – yes, I love to read, yet I often Sparknoted books in schools – doesn’t always make sense to me either). I read about 80 pages before getting bored and frustrated, so I skipped to the end (which I never do, so definitely a sign that this book wasn’t working for me), skimmed the last 50 or so pages to figure out what happened, and was quite happy to set it aside in order to read something I wanted to read. Not a horrible book, just not the book for me.

So, to get over my overall disinterest and frustration with The Ruining, I decided to skip ahead to rereading the first two Darkness Rising books before finally reading the final book, which I bought a couple of months ago and have been anxiously waiting to read once my stack disappeared/got a bit smaller, which it luckily has. I was worried my feelings would change for this book, that reading it for the third time would make me bored or that I would notice flaws and problems more, but this is one of those series where I know it has some problems and isn’t always perfect, but I love them so much that I don’t care and race through them again and again.

The Calling was also just as entertaining and enjoyable the second time around, and I was surprised to see how little I remembered of the ending. Rereading definitely helped, plus it was fun to reread.

The Rising was a great conclusion for me. Like the previous books, I know it has some flaws, but I really could care less – it’s just one of those series that can do little wrong in my eyes, one whose flaws are more like background white noise than an annoying bug buzzing around or something.

BOOKS IN THE READING SHELF

DarkStar MadnessUnderneath 9780142401750_Dreamland_CV.indd

Despite getting two more books at the library this week, the pile is really going fast! At this rate, I just might be able to reread some books that I want to, not just because I’m reading the next/last book in the trilogy and want to catch back up (not that I don’t like doing that, otherwise I wouldn’t bother). (Oh, and there are only three books since my first library book is already my “currently reading” book – I’ve been doing quite well this week, as you can see)

NEW BOOKS IN THE TO-READ SHELF

SeaofShadows

Another YA book/series from Kelley Armstrong? Definitely checking it out. I don’t know if it’s going to be connected to the Darkest Powers trilogy or Darkness Rising trilogy, but I hope it will be. This cover was just released on Saturday, so I found out about this book through its cover reveal. It looks different from the DP and DR covers, which sick-of-closeups-of-pretty-girls-covers people will appreciate, and it’s definitely interesting and eye-catching.

BOOK COVERS

RebelBelle SplitSecond

This is Rachel Hawkins’ first non-Hex Hall book (series? not quite sure), so it has a different type of cover. I prefer the Hex Hall covers, but it is something different (i.e. not girl in a dress/girl in general), so that’s working for it. I think it might grow on me. Then there’s the sequel to this year’s debut, Pivot Point. The model looks a little… off, with that strange expression, and it looks like it’s raining/sleeting on her, but I don’t think the cover is too bad. I was a bit confused at first, since Addie is a blonde, but then I read the summary and it seems like her best friend, Laila, might be a POV character as well, so it’s probably her.

2 thoughts on “All the Books (47)

  1. I have read Dreamland and The Truth About Forever by Dessen. Loved The Truth. And Enjoyed Dreamland. Curious to see what you think of Dreamland — it was pretty different then The Truth About Forever.

    Hawkin’s has a book that isn’t Hex Hall. Love That series. I need to check out this new book.

    1. Hmm, that’ll be interesting to see how it’s different and I certainly hope I enjoy it!

      And I’m definitely interested to see a Hawkins book outside of the Hex Hall world, although I also plan on checking out the Hex Hall companion series.

Leave a Reply

