Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books At the Top of My Summer TBR List

TopTenTuesday

Golden WildAwake SiegeandStorm 9780142501559_ThisLullaby_CV.indd 9780142415566_AlongForTheR_CV.indd ThatTimeIJoinedtheCircus RulesForDisappearing Outcast TheRising SloppyFirsts

1. Golden (Jessi Kirby)

I’ve been hearing such great, amazing things about this book and I really enjoyed Jessi Kirby’s first two books, so I’m definitely looking forward to this blend of mystery and contemporary.

2. Wild Awake (Hilary T. Smith)

This is a debut that I’ve heard great things about and that sounds interesting, which is always a great combination. It also looks like a nice, summery kind of book, which I’ve been reading lately since it is, of course, summertime.

3. Siege and Storm (Leigh Bardugo)

I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed Shadow and Bone, and I’ve heard great things about the sequel from people who also enjoyed the first book, so I’m quite excited, although there’s part of me that wants to wait as long to read the sequel so that I don’t have to wait a whole year before the third (last?) book comes out.

4. This Lullaby (Sarah Dessen)

One of Sarah Dessen’s most popular books, this also has an interesting premise: a mother who’s working on husband number five and the daughter that learned from that mother how to deal with relationships in a way that doesn’t hurt her. I think I’m going to have to listen to Marina & the Diamonds’ How to Be a Heartbreaker over and over again while reading this…

5. Along For The Ride (Sarah Dessen)

An insomniac that’s working at a clothing boutique for the summer in the beach town where her father has recently moved? It sounds like another interesting and summery Dessen book, plus it was one of the few that my library seemed to have in last week (even though I couldn’t find it), so I decided to throw it on this list as well.

6. That Time I Joined the Circus (J.J. Howard)

This is another debut and is about the circus. I haven’t heard much about it from other reviewers, but that premise alone gets me interested…

7. The Rules for Disappearing (Ashley Elston)

I’ve heard some good things about this book, it’s another debut, and it involves a family in the Witness Protection Program – sounds like an interesting combination, and definitely one you don’t get the chance to read about often.

8. Outcast (Adrienne Kress)

I really enjoyed Adrienne Kress’s The Friday Society a few months ago, so when I heard about her new books, which involved angels and already has some good reviews, I knew I would want to get my hands on it.

9. The Rising (Kelley Armstrong)

This is the final book in the Darkness Rising trilogy and I’ve had it for at least two months, I think, but I haven’t gotten around to it because I always have too many library books to work on any unread books that I already own. I am determined to get it read, as well as the first two books reread, sometime this summer, hopefully sometime this month as well. We’ll see how that goes…

10. Sloppy Firsts (Megan McCafferty)

It seems like just about every YA book blogger has read this series, but I haven’t yet, so I’m determined to check out the books sometime soon, hopefully this summer or at least this year. It sounds like something I would enjoy, but I just never thought of picking up the series before I began blogging and hearing about them everywhere.

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books At the Top of My Summer TBR List

    1. All the good reviews of it are getting me quite excited!

      I recently read Boundless and thought it was a good ending to the trilogy – I hope you enjoy it as well!

  1. I read (and reviewed) That Time I Joined the Circus a few months ago. I really liked it! I’ve never read any Sarah Dessen, but I really should. And Golden sounds good too. Nice list!

    Lisa
    My TTT

    1. I’ve barely heard anything about it, but the cover and the title alone have me really hopeful for it, so I hope I like it as well! Same with Golden – I’ve heard so many great things and I’m slightly worried but excited as well!

      A few weeks ago, I hadn’t read any Sarah Dessen, and I’m glad not to say that anymore – I’ve really enjoyed the books of hers that I’ve read so far.

      1. I’ve only read three of her books so far so I don’t have a lot of experience with her, but I started with Truth About Forever and really enjoyed it, especially when some of its smaller characters quickly popped up in Lock and Key, so I would suggest that as a good introduction!

    1. I’ve heard so many great things about many of these books, which gets me really excited! Sarah Dessen and summer also seem to be a bit synonymous, so I figured summer is the perfect time to try and read as many of her books as possible.

  2. THAT TIME I JOINED THE CIRCUS is actually the only book on your list that I’ve read. It’s a fast, fun (although a little sad) read. I liked it. Not as much as I thought I would, but still … it’s a decent novel.

    Happy TTT!

    1. Hopefully it goes well for me – I’m quite excited about it considering I know nothing about it. And sadness won’t deter me – books make me really emotional and yet I still seek out sad books!

    1. I thought about reading it while it was free on PulseIt, but I decided to wait until I can get a physical copy, probably from the library. I hope I like it as much as most other people seem to!

  3. I love Sarah Dessen — particularly The Truth About Forever and Along for the Ride. I can’t wait to read The Moon and More now. So summery. Great list 🙂

    1. I loved The Truth About Forever – it was my first book of hers and a great introduction. Very excited to read the rest of her books, including Along for the Ride!

    1. Yeah, I was really happy when I finished it in December or January and realized I only had to wait half a year until the sequel came out. A year is just too long sometimes!

  4. I have been dying to read Sarah Dessen’s books!! I’ve read Someone Like You and it is so great! The Moon and More made it on my TTT List!! Feel Free to check it out!

Leave a Reply

