Delirium by Lauren Oliver

DeliriumTitle: Delirium

Author: Lauren Oliver

Genre: Romance/Science Fiction

Publisher: HarperCollins

Pages: 441

Rating: DNF

They say that the cure for Love will make me happy and safe forever.

And I’ve always believed them.

Until now.

Now everything has changed.

Now, I’d rather be infected with love for the tiniest sliver of a second than live a hundred years smothered by a lie.

Lena looks forward to receiving the government-mandated cure that prevents the delirium of love and leads to a safe, predictable, and happy life, until ninety-five days before her eighteenth birthday and her treatment, when she falls in love.

This is another Did-Not-Finish review, so if you don’t like reading those, you might as well stop here. Yet again, I got a little more than halfway through this book, which I think is definitely long enough to figure out whether I like it or not and to explain why I didn’t.

My main problem with this book? For a story about a society that doesn’t like love, there is a lot of romance. From the moment the love interest is introduced, you know he’s going to be the love interest for two reasons: one, the summary mentions that she falls in love and why not have the first mysterious guy be that love interest; and two, it’s a YA book and it seems impossible to come across a book without a love interest. I love reading about romances just as much as most YA readers, but sometimes I could care less about the romance, like with this book.

Another big problem is my overall lethargy toward dystopians in general. I know, I probably shouldn’t have picked up this book since it is a dystopian, but I gave it a shot anyway. For the most part, I rarely find dystopians all that interesting, but the huge glut of dystopians among YA books lately has just made my feelings toward the genre worse. I know that defenders of dystopians often say that many YA “dystopians” aren’t really dystopians, they’re just quasi-dystopians that care more about teenager’s love lives than anything else, but overall I’m tired of dystopians. I’m tired of being introduced to these new worlds with new protagonists who always seem to think that the governmnet only wants the best for them until they meet a boy who changes their mind. I know that not all dystopians are like this, but frankly I’ve seen it’s so many times that it’s hard to remember that. If you’d like to see more ranting about dystopians, you can check out this post.

So, the combination of dystopian fatigue, romance overload, and a mostly actionless first half led me to put down this book. It’s so long and I have so many other books that I actually want to read, so I didn’t want to force myself to read this even longer. I know that plenty of people like this book, but in the end it wasn’t the book for me and I’m glad that I moved on.

2.5stars

One thought on “Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Leave a Reply

