Everbound by Brodi Ashton

EverboundTitle: Everbound

Author: Brodi Ashton

Genre: Mythology/Paranormal

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Pages: 358

Rating: 3.5/5

Nikki Beckett could only watch as her boyfriend, Jack, sacrificed himself to save her, taking her place in the Tunnels of the Everneath for eternity — a debt that should’ve been hers. She’s living a borrowed life, and she doesn’t know what to do with the guilt. And every night Jack appears in her dreams, lost and confused and wasting away.

Desperate for answers, Nikki turns to Cole, the immortal bad boy who wants to make her his queen — and the one person least likely to help. But his heart has been touched by everything about Nikki, and he agrees to assist her in the only way he can: by taking her to the Everneath himself.

Nikki and Cole descend into the Everneath, only to discover that their journey will be more difficult than they’d anticipated — and more deadly. But Nikki vows to stop at nothing to save Jack — even if it means making an incredible sacrifice of her own.

In this enthralling sequel to Everneath, Brodi Ashton tests the bonds of destiny and explores the lengths we’ll go to for the ones we love.

I was not a big fan of Brodi Ashton’s Everneath and didn’t plan on checking out its sequel, but I saw enough praise for it, and I needed more books for my sophomore books challenge (I know, a silly reason, but whatever), so I decided to check it out anyway. For the majority of it, I was as frustrated and bored as I had been with the first book, but somewhere in the last third or so of the book, I got interested in their quest – not with what would happen to protagonist Nikki, though – and, despite my leaning-toward-negative feelings about this book, I still want to know what will happen in the next book. This may not seem like a compliment, but it is: I’m not happy with you, Ashton.

OK, back to the story itself. I’m still not a big fan of Nikki. She always seemed to rub me the wrong way because I thought she cared too much about the boys in her life rather than her family. The main reason she wanted to come back in the first book was to say goodbye to her family, but I think her brother showed up a grand total of two or three times at the most, and she never really tried to make it up to her father – she was too busy running around after Jack or trying to figure out the secrets of the Everneath. She wasn’t necessarily a bad person, I just didn’t like the fact she originally claimed to be back for her family when it seemed like that was the furthest thing from the truth. And, in this book again, I feel like she just ignored her family while she was trying to get Jack back. It wouldn’t have annoyed me as much if it didn’t seem like she was all about her family when she really wasn’t.

If you haven’t figured it out yet, this book involves mythology. It twists various myths, mostly Greek/Roman as far as I remember. Now, I love mythology – Greek, Roman, Norse, and Egyptian are the ones I know best, and Greek/Roman is at the top. As a result, that affects the way I read mythology-related books. Normally I love them, but in some cases, it ticks me off when they change certain things or get things wrong or try too hard to prove that they are smart and know things when it comes to mythology (especially when I disagree with that whole “knowing things”). This book isn’t horrible about that, but I think that they both try too hard to include mythology at times. I already forget how which myth this book is obsessed with, but I was constantly getting frustrated with how much it tries to remind the reader about that myth.

Despite these negative things, and the fact that I wasn’t really interested in it until at least halfway through, I will admit that I liked the end. It had a twist that I did not see coming and that makes me kind-of, sort-of, maybe want to read the third and final book that comes out next year. I’ll probably check out some reviews of it first, but right now I will grudgingly say that there’s a chance this series might just grow on me yet.

3.5stars

3 thoughts on “Everbound by Brodi Ashton

  1. I’ve had this one sitting on my shelf for ages, but I haven’t gotten a chance to read it yet. I remember rating the first one highly, but I can’t remember a lot of details now that I try to think about it! Haha

    1. If you liked the first one, then you’ll probably really enjoy this sequel. I think it was more interesting and a few months later I look more favourably on it than I did the first book. I think the main reason I wasn’t a big fan of this book was because I am such a big mythology fan and can be overly critical of mythology-related books (or not critical at all, which I guess can be a problem as well, although not while I’m reading and enjoying the books!)

Leave a Reply

