Book Blogger Confessions (1)

BookBloggerConfessions

I love reading the various forms of Book Blogger Confessions on other blogs, so I decided to jump on yet another bandwagon – after all, don’t all readers have some unusual quirks when it comes to books and blogging? I certainly have plenty, yet as soon as I sat down to actually write about them, I was drawing a blank. This is not to say that I’m not a weird reader – trust me, I have plenty of weird habits and such. I just couldn’t think of anything.

Then, a strange but definitely true confession popped into my head.

I like reading romances in YA books. I don’t like insta-love and am getting sick of love triangles, but I still love reading about budding and growing relationships in YA. I cheer on most couples, and when I don’t want a couple to get together that’s obviously going to get together at some point, it often negatively impacts my reading experience. So, I should have plenty of crushes on these fictional guys that sweep the heroine off their feet, right? If I cheer them on and want the couple to become a couple, it must be because I want to live through the protagonist and get the fictional guy for myself in a way, right?

Well, it’s not like that for me. I have very few of these “fictional crushes” that seem to be all the rage in the YA book blogging community. That’s not to say that I look down on the people that do or think that they’re weird for liking fictional boys – I have way too many attachments with characters in other ways, so it would just be hypocrtical and quite silly to scoff at people who form different attachments.

I’m not really sure why I don’t feel that way about the fictional love interests since I spend much of my time reading about them and cheering them on. If I didn’t like them, I would be silently (or not-so-silently) yelling at the protagonist to get the hell away from them, but I rarely read books that would make me feel like that. So, I like the characters – I just don’t spend my time wishing that they would jump out of the book and show up for me instead.

Is this because I’m a realist? The type of person who understands that these are fictional characters and therefore spends my time thinking about more attainable people like wealthy celebrities? Hell no – I read because I like escaping from the world, and I often like to pretend that the worlds are quite real. I just don’t have quite the same attachment with the characters – I like reading about them, but rarely do they seem as real as the worlds they live in can be.

Instead, my character attachments seem to be reserved for the characters I write, but that’s a crazy story for another time.

Maybe this is a weak start to BBC, but I think it’s a very unusual thing in the YA book blogging community, so I think it fits well. And who knows – now that I’ve “confessed” it, I may read a book with a guy that I instantly form a crush on – the world likes to work in strange and interesting ways.

2 thoughts on “Book Blogger Confessions (1)

  1. I get what you’re saying here. I pretty rarely swoon for a character to the point where I would say I wanted him for my “book boyfriend” but that’s often because the character I’m falling for is a part of a couple, and I fall equally as hard for the couple. I can’t imagine Sam without Grace (from Shiver) or Rose without Dimitri (Vampire Academy). While I love both of those boys, I also love them for how much they love their ladies!

    1. I’ve never thought of it that way, but that sums it up really well – I love the couple, and I love the guys as part of the couple. For example, I would never want to steal Tucker from Clara, for example, even though I think he’s a great guy.

Leave a Reply

