Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like More/Less Than I Did

TopTenTuesday

PoisonStudy MagicStudy Ruby1 Skulduggery1 EyesLikeStars MillionSuns Wildefire JekelLovesHyde DisreputableHistoryofFrankieLandauBanks HowtoDitchYourFairy

LESS: Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

I feel like I say this every time I bring up the Study books, but I am very wary of high fantasy books, and I really have no idea why, since I tend to at least enjoy them whenever I give them a chance. Poison Study definitely falls into that category. I enjoyed reading about this elaborate world and just had to know what was going to happen.

LESS: Magic Study by Maria V. Snyder

Despite loving the first book, though, I was still nervous for the second book. Apparently I just didn’t learn, because I enjoyed the second book just as much.

LESS: The Boyfriend List by E. Lockhart

It’s not that I didn’t expect to like this book – I figured it would be a decent book/series and that I wouldn’t regret reading it afterward – it’s that I didn’t expect to like it nearly as much as I did. By the time I made my way through all four books, however, I was hooked and plan on rereading them as soon as possible, since I bought them all and happily made room for them on my home bookshelf.

LESS: Skulduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy

This isn’t as high-fantasy, but it does have a lot of fantasy elements and has plenty of magic. It sounded like it was a little young for me, but I don’t think it is after reading the first six books. Actually, the more recent ones have gotten really dark. But the best part of these books will always be the humor, which is amazing and delightfully English (well, the author is Irish, I think, but I feel like the idea of British humor is easier to identify with than that of the Irish, and they’re all on the same little old island of U.K., so maybe I should just call it that). Love these books and wish I could live in their world, despite the death and destruction that seems to be a requirement.

LESS: Eyes Like Stars by Lisa Mantchev

Again, this book sounded slightly too fantastical for me, but I tried it on a whim and loved it. It can be a tad confusing at times, especially when it comes to trying to figure out what’s real and what’s not, but I could care less. I’m really starting to notice a pattern in the books I think I won’t like but end up loving – maybe I should keep it in mind for the future.

LESS: A Million Suns by Beth Revis

I really wasn’t a big fan of Across the Universe, but I decided to try to read the sequel during vacation last year anyway, and I am sure glad I did because it changed my opinion about the series completely. I don’t quite know what it is about this book that made me like it, but I was much more interested and invested in this story than the first one. Hopefully the third book, which came out back in January, is as interesting for me as this book was.

LESS: Wildefire by Karsten Knight

This book is quite big and involves mythology and gods and goddesses, which seems like it should be a slam dunk since I love them so much but can often be the kiss of death for books that (in my opinion) handle it wrong. Despite these potential problems, though, I really enjoyed this book, and went on to enjoy the second one as well. Here’s to hoping the third book continues that trend!

MORE: Jekel Loves Hyde by Beth Fantaskey

I enjoyed Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side, so I figured that I would like this one as well, but something about this book just never clicked with me. I wasn’t really interested in the characters or their romance or their story. I guess Fantaskey is better when she sticks to vampires rather than stories of dual identities.

MORE: The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart

If you skipped the little entry about Ruby Oliver, you still probably know that I loved that series. This book, also by E. Lockhart and complete with an interesting premise and glowing reviews, seemed like it would be right up my alley. Unfortunately, for some reason, I just couldn’t get into this book. I wasn’t a fan of Frankie or many of the other characters, despite identifying with many things in the this book, such as the push for the acceptance of girls in a boys-only society and Frankie’s quest to prove that she’s just as good as the boys. Disappointing, really – but it luckily didn’t diminish my love of Lockhart. I still have hope!

MORE: How to Ditch Your Fairy by Justine Larbalestier

I really liked Justine Larbalestier’s Magic or Madness trilogy when I first read it, and it continues to be a favorite that I reread every couple of years or so. That and the fact that this book is about fairies seemed like a great combination, but I just couldn’t enjoy this book. The main character was whiny and irritating, making her mission and thus the whole point of the book frustrating and silly, and I had no idea why the love interest would even begin to like her as a friend, let alone as more.

Luckily, I tend to be pleasantly surprised a lot more than disappointed. Hopefully that continues in the future!

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Thought I’d Like More/Less Than I Did

    1. Yeah, I’m always surprised with just how much people LOVE it, since I didn’t enjoy it at all. A lot of times it’s people I normally have really similar tastes with, so I don’t know why I didn’t like it at all – maybe if I had read it before I became obsessed with Ruby Oliver…

Leave a Reply

