New Reads: Rewind Edition – Recap (1)

NewReadsRewind

If you’ve been here long enough, you probably know that I love to go through old TBR lists to see how many books have actually been read since I posted. Well, why not do that for my Rewind Edition of New Reads? Think of this as a quick review post if you prefer reviews, because I’ll quickly say how the books turned out for me. Not sure how many I’ll do of these, but hopefully I’ll have read enough books in the next few months or so to do another one at the end of summer or early fall – we’ll see…

WildRoses ForeverRose

Wild Roses by Deb Caletti

Unfortunately, I wasn’t as impressed with this book as I was with other Caletti books I read before it. The main character was quite judgmental and I didn’t really care about the romance, two problems that often overwhelmed the story of Cassie’s stepfather, which caught my interest more. An interesting story, just didn’t care for the protagonist, which meant the story was often overwhelmed by her.

Forever Rose by Hilary McKay

I loved Saffy’s Angel when I first read it back in elementary school, and I rushed through the following three books when I found out it was a series. I don’t think I knew until recently that there was a fifth (and final, I’m pretty sure) book, so I bought it along with numbers 2-4, and reread the whole series. While the following books aren’t as great as the first book (which could be my bias sticking out thanks to my obsessive love of it as a kid), I still enjoyed reading about this quirky and loving British family, and find myself wishing there was still more.

TwoWayStreet FireStudy

Two-Way Street by Lauren Barnholdt

I had another one of Barnholdt’s books on my to-read list for years (literally, it’s been there almost since I made my Goodreads account, back in December of 2010 – wow, I feel kind of old now), but I picked up this one, perhaps her first, can’t remember for sure, first. It definitely seemed dated to me, especially with a big portion of the plot involving a MySpace relationship, and it had a bit of slutshaming if I remember correctly, but the story interested me so much that I really didn’t mind too much.

Fire Study by Maria V. Snyder

I was really worried to read this because I thought it was the last book in the trilogy (it’s not – after I finished it I read that the author had signed a deal for another three books – not sure how I feel about that yet) and I had seen some reviews that thought the series got progressively worse. Well, I still enjoyed the second book and I luckily enjoyed this one as well. I think it ended well, but I’ll still check out the new books as well as the companion trilogy.

FeelingSorryforCelia 13LittleBlueEnvelopes

Feeling Sorry for Celia by Jaclyn Moriarty

I mostly decided to read this because the premise sounded kind of quirky and the author was Australian and I want to read more authors from countries other than America. I hadn’t realized that the whole book consisted of letters, which threw me off at first, and I initially had to force myself to keep going, about somewhere around the mid-point I started to really get into the book and really enjoyed it by the end. I haven’t checked out the other books in the series yet, mostly because they have different protagonists if I remember correctly, but I may have to change that sometime soon.

13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson

I wasn’t even planning on reading this until I saw a copy of it for $1 at a Half Price Books. I figured it couldn’t hurt and picked it up. For the most part, this book left me disappointed in the same ways that Maureen Johnson’s books normally do – didn’t care for the main character, secondary characters were more interesting, shy characters that really don’t seem that shy to me, etc. – but by the end I was kind of enjoying myself. I don’t think I’m going to read the sequel that came out recently, but I’m still kind of glad that I read this in the first place – well, I’m at least not mad that I did read it.

SixRulesofMaybe Mercy

The Six Rules of Maybe by Deb Caletti

Like the other Caletti book on this list, this book left me kind of disappointed. The protagonist didn’t annoy me quite as much as Cassie, but she still wasn’t my favorite. I mostly stuck with it because I wanted to finish the story of Scarlett’s sister and husband. A bit better than Wild Roses, but still not a favorite of mine.

Mercy by Rebecca Lim

I saw this on another review site years ago and thought it sounded interesting. I never really saw it anywhere, so I was kind of excited when my library’s online library (or whatever it’s called) had it a few months ago. Unfortunately, my excitement ended there. For a fairly small book, this seemed to drag on way too long, mainly because I was so freaking confused. It felt like I had picked up the second book in a series or something. I didn’t care for the characters and I figured out the mystery, or at least narrowed it down to just two or so people, long before the characters did. Not picking up the next one, that’s for sure.

FixingDelilah Nevermore

Fixing Delilah by Sarah Ockler

Ooh, should have waited a little longer to make this post. As I write this on Monday, I’m only about halfway through this book, but I’m sure I’ll be done or almost done by the time this goes up, so I’m including this anyway. So far, I definitely like this more than my first Sarah Ockler book, Twenty Boy Summer. Unless something goes horribly wrong, I think this book is shaping up to be a solid 4 star book, which means my hope isn’t completely lost for Ockler, who seems to be a YA fave yet has never truly captured my enjoyment with her first and third (I think) books.

Nevermore by Kelly Creagh

I just *read* this book last week. Why the marks around “read,” you ask? Well, I got about 320 pages in, which is longer than some YA books, and decided that life was too short to force myself through the rest. At that point I was doing a lot of skimming and only reading the dialogue to catch the important bits. It’s not a bad book, it just wasn’t the book for me, especially since it was so long (over 500 pages).

Leave a Reply

