Feeling Sorry for Celia by Jaclyn Moriarty

FeelingSorryforCeliaTitle: Feeling Sorry for Celia

Author: Jaclyn Moriarty

Genre: Contemporary

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

Pages: 288

Rating: 3.75/5

Life is pretty complicated for Elizabeth Clarry. Her best friend Celia keeps disappearing, her absent father suddenly reappears, and her communication with her mother consists entirely of wacky notes left on the fridge. On top of everything else, because her English teacher wants to rekindle the “Joy of the Envelope,” a Complete and Utter Stranger knows more about Elizabeth than anyone else.

But Elizabeth is on the verge of some major changes. She may lose her best friend, find a wonderful new friend, kiss the sexiest guy alive, and run in a marathon. So much can happen in the time it takes to write a letter…

A #1 bestseller in Australia, this fabulous debut is a funny, touching, revealing story written entirely in the form of letters, messages, postcards—and bizarre missives from imaginary organizations like The Cold Hard Truth Association.

Feeling Sorry for Celia captures, with rare acuity, female friendship and the bonding and parting that occurs as we grow. Jaclyn Moriarty’s hilariously candid novel shows that the roller coaster ride of being a teenager is every bit as fun as we remember—and every bit as harrowing.

When I started this book, I didn’t quite know what to expect and had to kind of force myself to read the first half or so of the book, but by the second half of the book I was really enjoying this story.

The first thing that threw me off about this book was the fact that it was written completely in letter-form, from Elizabeth’s letters to her pen pal, her pen pal back, and her mother’s letters, among a few other people. It mentioned a lot of letters, and this synopsis even said that it was written entirely with letters, yet I didn’t realize it until I actually began reading it, for some unknown reason. So, it wasn’t a problem, it just left me slightly thrown because I wasn’t expecting it.

Celia was my main problem with this book. She is not a very nice person, in my opinion. Well, she’s not exactly a mean person, she’s just slightly oblivious and self-centered, especially when it comes to her friend, Elizabeth. At the beginning, Elizabeth doesn’t recognize any of Celia’s shortcomings, which is probably why I wasn’t the biggest fan at first. When she began seeing her friend for who she really was, and began getting closer to her pen pal, I started enjoying the book more.

By the end, I was just completely entertained. It took me a while, but the last 100 or 150 pages or so went pretty fast for me. I haven’t read any of the other books in this series because they focus on a different character, if I remember correctly, but I may change that in the future because I did end up enjoying this book in the end.

4stars

2 thoughts on “Feeling Sorry for Celia by Jaclyn Moriarty

Leave a Reply

