Top Ten Tuesday: Rewind

TopTenTuesday

Today’s topic is Rewind, which means any past topic, so I’m going with the Top Ten Books I Can’t Believe I’ve Never Read. I plan on reading most or all of them sometime in the future, but we’ll see how well that turns out…

9780142406250_TruthAboutFo_CV.indd PerksofBeingaWallflower SloppyFirsts VampireAcademy LostHero RedPyramid Speak Graceling GoldenCompass ChroniclesofNarnia

1. Any Sarah Dessen Books

As I’ve mentioned lately, I haven’t read any Sarah Dessen books and plan on fixing that this summer. I’m surprised I haven’t read any because they seem like such a staple in the YA blogging community and I even remember some classmates reading some of them back in middle school, but I never thought to pick up any of her books when I saw them at the library. For the last year or so, though, I’ve being going through plenty of contemporary books, so it’s only fitting to check out one of the biggest YA authors in the contemporary genre.

2. The Perks of Being a Wallflower (Stephen Chbosky)

I remember noticing this book at the library years ago, mainly because of the interesting title, but I never bothered checking out the synopsis and reading it. Then I saw the movie and it was great and now I want to check out the book, although I’m also afraid of how different it’s going to be since I’m used to reading the book first, not watching the movie.

3. Sloppy Firsts (Megan McCafferty)

This happens a lot – I remember seeing this at the library years ago and remembered it because the title was kind of interesting and the copies that my library had were really big for some reason. Again, I’m on a big contemporary kick so I figure I should check it this series out and see if it’s as amazing as everyone else seems to think.

4. Vampire Academy (Richelle Mead)

On one hand, I’m really not that surprised that I haven’t read this series yet because Twilight made me really jaded toward vampires and I didn’t even finish the first book, but I got over the anti-vampire thing and realized that not all vampire books are bad. Still, I didn’t read this series, even when some of my friends were obsessing over it about two years ago. Yet again, I plan on checking out the first book and seeing what all the fuss is about.

5. The Lost Hero (Rick Riordan)

I loved the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series and was sad when it ended, yet I haven’t bothered to pick up the companion series yet. I’ve started to see some stuff about it and plan on rereading the first series as soon as possible and then checking out this series, along with…

6. The Red Pyramid (Rick Riordan)

This isn’t a companion series, but it’s also about mythology, this time Egyptian, and I am so obsessed with mythology that I can’t believe I haven’t at least tried this book out. Sure, not all YA books with mythology connections are that great, but I enjoyed Riordan’s first series enough to check this out. Plus, my sister has the first book, yet I still haven’t read it yet.

7. Speak (Laurie Halse Anderson)

I’m really, really not sure why I haven’t read this book yet. I enjoy reading issue-heavy books, even when they make me sad or mad or other strong emotions, yet I haven’t even thought about reading this book. I’ve heard great things about it and I want to support Banned Books, yet this isn’t even on my to-read list. Maybe sometime in the future I’ll change that…

8. Graceling (Kristin Cashore)

Plenty of YA bloggers are obsessed with this book and its companions, as well as some of my friends and even my own sister, yet I’ve never bothered to check it out and see what all the fuss is about. I rarely read high fantasy books but the few that I do read always seem to turn out great, so there doesn’t seem to be any reason that I haven’t checked out this book other than the fact that I’ve gotten a little sick of hearing about it.

9. The Golden Compass (Philip Pullman)

Maybe it was because I was younger, maybe it was because I had never read any of the books, but I remember enjoying the movie version of this book. So, it doesn’t really make sense that I haven’t tried to read the series of books that it’s based on, especially since the books are apparently much, much better.

10. The Chronicles of Narnia (C.S. Lewis)

I have actually read two books in this series, the actual first book, The Magician’s Nephew, and the common first in movie adaptations, The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe, but I’ve never finished the series, so I’m still including it. My sister bought a huge book that has all the books in the series bound in one volume and I think I even paid for part of it, but I haven’t bothered picking it up and reading it. Maybe another project for summer.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Rewind

  1. FYI: Riordan’s other series are just as amazing as the original Percy Jackson. (I was skeptical at fist too.) 🙂
    I haven’t gotten around to actually reading Perks of Being a Wallflower yet either although I’ve checked it out from the library at least 4 times now….
    Hope you get around to reading some of these soon!!
    Steph @ The Unlikely Librarian

    1. I’ve very excited to read those books – I just ordered the last book in Percy Jackson so I can reread that series and then get started on the new one!

      I think this summer is going to consist of a lot of rereading ad older “classics” that I need/want to read, so hopefully I’ll get around to most of them.

  2. Honestly, you’re not alone with most of these. I’ve only read The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Speak. Oh and I’ve read I think two Sarah Dessen books but don’t remember which ones or what they were about. I swear, there are so many books that I feel like I need to read that everyone else has read. It never ends!

    1. I definitely hope that I enjoy Sarah Dessen’s books as much as many other people seem to, especially some of her more popular ones like This Lullaby and The Truth About Forever.

      I love your quotes, especially the Lewis Carroll and Gallagher Girl ones. I’m always jealous of people who can remember great quotes – I’ll notice them when I read them but I forget about them much too quickly to list them.

Leave a Reply

