Mercy by Rebecca Lim

MercyTitle: Mercy

Author: Rebecca Lim

Genre: Mystery/Paranormal

Publisher: Hyperion

Pages: 288

Rating: 2.5/5

A fallen angel haunted by her past. Yearning for her immortal beloved. Forever searching for answers. Who will show her Mercy?

Mercy has lost herself. She can’t count how many times she’s “woken up” in a new body, and assumed a new life, only to move on again and again. During the day she survives in the human world on instinct and at night her dreams are haunted by him. Mercy’s heart would know him anywhere. But her memory refuses to cooperate.

But this time is different. When Mercy wakes up she meets Ryan, an eighteen year old reeling from the loss of his twin sister who was kidnapped two years ago. Everyone else has given up hope, but Ryan believes his sister is still alive. Using a power she doesn’t fully comprehend, Mercy realizes that Ryan is right. His sister is alive and together they can find her. For the first time since she can remember, Mercy has a purpose; she can help. So she doesn’t understand why the man in her dreams cautions her not to interfere. But as Ryan and Mercy come closer to solving the dark mystery of his sister’s disappearance, danger looms just one step behind.

Will Mercy be able to harness her true self and extraordinary power in time?

The first in a dazzling new series, Mercy masterfully weaves romance, mystery and the supernatural into a spell-binding tale.

I was mildly excited to read this book because it sounded like it had an interesting premise and was about angels, and I was in a bit of an angel-high thanks to Unearthly. Unfortunately, this book left me quite disappointed.

It’s been a while since I read it, a few months, and it really isn’t that memorable. I remember how much it irritated me a lot more than I remember certain parts of the plot. The characterization seemed very uneven and confusing, with a lot more telling than showing. I really, really didn’t care about the romance and I had trouble caring about the mystery as well because I figured it out a lot sooner than Mercy and Ryan.

My main problem with this book is how confused it left me, though. The reader is just thrown into the story without much explanation. It definitely didn’t have a problem with info-dumping – too bad it just left me utterly confused from the first few pages. You need a balance, and this book did not have that. I had trouble understanding the person that Mercy ends up, along with the arrangement of students. Then there’s an already established love interest (I think) who isn’t even introduced properly. I was so confused that I was constantly wondering if I had somehow picked up the second book in a series. Some of the confusion may have had to do with skimming, but I only began skimming because I was so confused and bored in the first place.

Overall, I was very disappointed with this book. When I wasn’t feeling very blah toward it, I was just irritated. I didn’t hate the book, although it did frustrate me a lot, but in the end I’m just glad I’m done with the book and have moved on.

2.5stars

Leave a Reply

