Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Recommend the Most

TopTenTuesday

Ruby1 Impossible WestingGame ShesSoMoney TTYL BeautyQueens White Cat IfIStay Stay PoisonStudy

1. The Ruby Oliver series by E. Lockhart

Ever since I read this series early last year, I haven’t been able to stop talking about it. Now that it’s a new year (well, not so new anymore, since we’re nearing the end of March), I need to reread it, especially since I bought all the books. It has a great main character, great supporting characters, great lists… really, what more could you ask for?

2. Impossible by Nancy Werlin

This book has been one of my favorites, if not my favorite, for years now, which is saying something with some of the great books I’ve read since I first read it. I actually got my roommate to read it and she ended up enjoying it. I don’t know what it is about this book – the characters or the story or the mix of contemporary drama and fantastical creatures – but I just love it.

3. The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin

I really haven’t brought this book up a lot until I finally reread it for the first time in a couple of years, and then I seemed to be sticking it onto every list possible. It’s a children’s book, but I really don’t care, I think it can be entertaining and interesting for any age or gender or species – okay, maybe not the last. Although I’m sure my dogs or cats wouldn’t mind me reading it to them – as long as I was petting them at the same time, of course.

4. She’s So Money by Cherry Cheva

Another that I include on a lot of lists here. I really want to reread it, hopefully after I buy it – I never think of looking for it when I’m shopping at bookstores, but I’ll have to remedy that. I just find the book funny and interesting, not quite sure why. I mean, it is funny and interesting, but for some reason it’s stuck in my head more than a lot of other funny and interesting ones.

5. TTYL by Lauren Myracle

I remember giving a copy of this book to a friend for a birthday and lending another friend a copy of mine. I don’t really loan books much and I only recommend them a little more (most of the books on this list are ones I bring up a lot on the blog rather than ones I urge my real-life friends to read), so this is one of the few examples where I have real-life experience with recommending and loaning it. I really enjoyed it when I was younger, especially the unusual medium of text-writing, and I continue to enjoy it now – by the way, I really am in need of a reread of the series soon. Yay!

6. Beauty Queens by Libba Bray

This is another book that I mentioned to my roommate, although I did warn her that it’s the type of book you probably either love or hate. I luckily love it and hoped to bond with a friend who loved the Gemma Doyle books as well over it, but I think she has yet to read it. Sigh.

7. White Cat by Holly Black

Another one that I mention a lot here. I don’t know, I just really enjoy it. I definitely don’t read as many books with a male point of view as female, so it’s nice to find one that I also enjoy reading when it comes to the interesting story.

8. If I Stay by Gayle Forman

I’ve mentioned this at least a few times here and I think it’s probably one of the books that I’m more likely to bring up with friends. I recently bought this book and want to reread the duology as soon as I get my hands on the second book. Definitely a heartbreaking but beautiful book.

9. Stay by Deb Caletti

My first book by Deb Caletti has also been one of my favorites and I frequently bring it up when talking about her books or contemporary books in general. I don’t know why, but this book has really stuck with me, which is why I bought it and recently (well, not so much at this point) reread it last year and the main reason why I keep coming back to her books even when some of them leave me less-than-impressed.

10. Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder

This is the book that I always bring up when I talk about how I tend to shy away from high fantasy books and yet seem to really like them when I give them the chance. This is another book that I don’t know why I like it so much, but I really, really do. Not so sure about the trilogy being expanded to a six-book series, but I like it enough to continue reading and giving it a chance.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Recommend the Most

  1. I am so happy to see White Cat on someone else’s list! I love that series, but it just lingers on my shelves at the library. Have you read Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by Lish McBride? I hope you read Where She Went soon, I thought is was even better than the first!

    1. Yeah, I love White Cat but so far the only person I’ve convinced to read it is my sister, at least as far as I know. I haven’t read Hold Me Closer, Necromancer, but I’ll definitely check it out on Goodreads. And I have read Where She Went and loved it, I’m just waiting until I buy it to reread and cry over both books!

  2. Ooh I own White Cat but haven’t gotten around to reading it. Seeing it on someone else’s TTT list makes me want to though. Of course, then I’ll have to go to the store and buy the other books in the series. Ahh! Great list 🙂

    1. I just borrowed them from the library, but I might buy them myself sometime in the future. And you should definitely check it out, especially if you like books that take a real historical event and give it a paranormal twist (in this case, Prohibition) – that’s one of my favorite aspects about this trilogy!

  3. You have a wonderful list. I just read If I Stay not that long ago and it was unputdownable. And when reading Beauty Queens I laughed so hard. Many of the other books on your list I haven’t read yet. So many books to read but so little time.

    MY TTT

    1. Yeah, If I Stay is so short yet so powerful – I stayed up late finishing on a school night, I remember. And I definitely laughed at Beauty Queens, especially some of the footnotes – I love footnotes!

      I haven’t read any of the books on your list, but I do plan on reading The Heroes of Olympus series since I loved the Percy Jackson series! There are definitely so many book with so little time, though…

Leave a Reply

