Two-Way Street by Lauren Barnholdt

TwoWayStreetTitle: Two-Way Street

Author: Lauren Barnholdt

Genre: Contemporary

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Pages: 296

Rating: 3.75/5

There are two sides to every breakup.

This is Jordan and Courtney, totally in love. Sure, they were an unlikely high school couple. But they clicked; it worked. They’re even going to the same college, and driving cross-country together for orientation. Then Jordan dumps Courtney — for a girl he met on the Internet.

It’s too late to change plans, so the road trip is on. Courtney’s heartbroken, but figures she can tough it out for a few days. La la la — this is Courtney pretending not to care.

But in a strange twist, Jordan cares. A lot.

Turns out, he’s got a secret or two that he’s not telling Courtney. And it has everything to do with why they broke up, why they can’t get back together, and how, in spite of it all, this couple is destined for each other.

I’ve had Lauren Barnholdt’s Sometimes It Happens on my to-read shelf for a while, but still hadn’t gotten around to it. Despite that, I decided to check this book out as well, and I just happened to get my hands on it sooner. It’s one of her first or the first book of hers, not sure, so I don’t know if she’s improved or not, but I felt this was a pretty good early attempt.

For the most part, I enjoyed this book a lot. It’s about a former couple heading off on a road trip to college, so it combines a road trip and college adventures (OK, we only read about them in college for the last few chapters, but I’m counting it anyway), which is always entertaining. For the most part the two main characters, Courtney and Jordan, were pretty interesting to read about.

There are two main reasons that this book wasn’t amazing. First: the outdated references. The biggest thing are the multiple mentions of MySpace. Not exactly modern, but it comes up a lot because Jordan apparently met his current girlfriend over MySpace and such. This book was written in 2005 or around then, and I feel like it really shows. When this book was written, I was still in elementary school. I can’t remember if there are a lot of pop culture references, but I do remember that the MySpace references aren’t the only outdated bits about this story.

The other problem I had with this book was the slutshaming. I don’t think there was too much, but it was definitely there and noticeable enough to bother me when it popped up. I’ve reached the point where slutshaming definitely affects a book’s rating. I don’t necessarily take a whole star off of the Goodreads rating, but I do take it into account when I get to the end of the book.

So, overall, I did enjoy this book. There were some small problems, but it didn’t detract from the entertainment of the book too much.

4stars

Leave a Reply

