Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Series I’d Like to Start But Haven’t Yet

TopTenTuesday

Diviners JustOneDay StormGlass Nevermore DaughterofSmokeandBone SloppyFirsts GraveMercy VampireAcademy Delirium 9780142406250_TruthAboutFo_CV.indd

1. The Diviners by Libba Bray

This book has been out for at least a year, I think, but I still haven’t got a chance to read it yet. That’s because the darn thing is never at the library and I’m too cheap to buy it – at least, not yet. This book is by Libba Bray, so I would automatically read it no matter what, but in this case it’s also about magic and is set in the Roaring Twenties, so how could I not check it out?

2. Just One Day/Just One Year by Gayle Forman

OK, not really a series, it’s a “duology,” but I needed more series for this list, plus it’s not a standalone, so it fits. At least, it works for me. This is Gayle Forman we’re talking about, so it’s sure to be heart wrenching and amazing and plenty of people have loved it so I am eager to get my hands on it.

3. Glass by Maria V. Snyder

I really, really enjoyed Snyder’s Study trilogy, so I think this spin-off trilogy should be just as interesting. I just finished the last Study book, so this is a new addition to my to-read list, which is why I haven’t read them yet, but I’m sure I will soon.

4. Nevermore by Kelly Creagh

This book didn’t look very interesting to me when it first came out a few years ago, but since then I’ve heard lots and lots of good things about this very large book, so I definitely want to at least give the series a chance. I mean, come on, it has an Edgar Allen Poe connection – that’s got to count for something, right?

5. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Another book that came out a couple of years ago and that I didn’t think sounded too interesting but I’ve heard so many good things that I want to at least check it out. It’s a fantasy-esque book, if I recall correctly, and sounds crazy (in a good way, hopefully), so I definitely want to at least check it out.

6. Jessica Darling by Megan McCafferty

I feel like this is a series that basically every YA book blogger has read, or at least the first book in the series, so I might as well check it out. It seems like it could be the type of book I’d enjoy, so I definitely want to check it out and see if that’s the case.

7. Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers

This is a more recent series (the second book just came out or is about to come out), and another one that I didn’t think it sounded like my cup of tea but I’ve heard so many raving reviews about the first and second book that I had to check it out. Oh, and it has nun assassins or something? That could be interesting…

8. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Another series that a lot of YA book bloggers seem to have read and enjoyed for the most part, plus they’re making a movie so I might as well read the first book before everyone gets obsessed with it and I look like a follower who just read it because of the movies (yeah, I’m a partial book hipster or something along those lines). As long as it’s not about sparkling vampires and epic love stories that are more sad than epic, it should be fine.

9. Delirium by Lauren Oliver

I still need to read Lauren Oliver’s Before I Fall book, but I also want to check out this series, which sounds quite different. They’re working on a television pilot for the series (it won’t necessarily be a show next fall, but there’s a chance) with Emma Roberts, so it’d be nice to read the books first in case it sounds interesting. Plus, the last book recently came out or is about to come out and a lot of people are talking about it. It doesn’t sound like my type of book – dystopian where love is outlawed or something? – but apparently the second book is really good (and this isn’t just from fangirls, but tougher critics as well), so I want to try it.

10. Sarah Dessen books

OK, this isn’t a series, but I’m grouping all of her books together as a series because I needed a tenth series. I haven’t read any of her books, which seems like a rare, if not impossible, thing in the YA book blogosphere, and The Truth About Forever, her highest-rated book on Goodreads, seems like a good place to start. I hope to possibly read a bunch of her books over the summer – I think it would fit in with my love of Deb Caletti, Stephanie Perkins, and other popular contemporary authors. And, if she’s nothing like any of those authors, then there’s only one way to find out (other than reading reviews)!

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Series I’d Like to Start But Haven’t Yet

  1. Omgosh, so many of my favorite books are on this list: Jessica Darling (two words: Marcus Flutie), Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Grave Mercy (assassin nuns!), and Sarah Dessen (squee!). In addition to The Truth About Forever, I highly recommend Sarah Dessen’s This Lullaby, too. Also, I didn’t know Delirium is being made into a TV pilot! All the more reason for me to read it then. 😉

    1. Yeah, I have a ton of books I want to get to, and most of them are due to hearing good things about them. I plan on checking out as many Sarah Dessen novels over summer break as possible – luckily I think my library has most if not all of them.

      As for Delirium, if you want to read more about the TV pilot, you can check out some of these casting links. There’s no guarantee it’ll be a show but it’s looking kind of promising just based on some of the slightly bigger names associated with it, such as Emma Roberts, Billy Campbell, and a former SYTYCD winner.

Leave a Reply

