Embers and Echoes by Karsten Knight

Embers&EchoesTitle: Embers and Echoes

Author: Karsten Knight

Genre: Mythology/Paranormal

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

Pages: 480

Rating: 4/5

Fan the flames: A teen goddess fires up her search for love and family in this sequel to Wildefire.

Ashline Wilde may have needed school to learn that she is actually a reincarnated goddess, but she’s ready to move beyond books. She leaves her California boarding school behind and makes for Miami, where she meets a new group of deities and desperately seeks her sister Rose, the goddess of war. But she’s also looking for love—because even though her romance with Cole had to be snuffed, Ash is a volcano goddess—and she doesn’t get burned.

This sequel to the edgy and action-packed Wildefire continues a fiery drama on an immortal scale.

I read and really enjoyed Karsten Knight’s debut, Wildefire, last year, and the sequel left me just as happy.

Like the first book, this was a very long book (nearly five hundred pages) with very long chapters (each about forty or so pages long, if I recall), but it didn’t seem nearly as long while reading it. I kept reading and reading in order to figure out what was going and what was going to happen.

Not all of the characters from the first book were in this book, which made me sad since many of the interesting characters from the last book were what kept me so interested, but we meet plenty of new characters this time around. There are more gods, many of which I’ve never heard of (I’m a mythology lover, but I normally stick with the typical Greek, Roman, Norse, and a little Egyptian), which definitely kept me interested.

The focus of the book, a cult of gods and the search for Ash’s little sister, was definitely interesting. This book had plenty of death and destruction, much like the last book, but there was also plenty of humor, some good and some a bit over the top. The flashbacks to Ash and her sister Eve’s past life was interesting and there were some twists that I didn’t see coming.

The ending, much like the last book, was quite sad. Characters I liked died and left, and the last book was set up. It was all very dramatic and such – until Ash basically screams at the sky, saying “I’ll get you” to a certain trickster. I don’t know if it was meant to be serious, but I thought it was a bit cheesy and quite funny.

Overall, I enjoyed this book. I think that it was a good sequel, and I look forward to the third (final?) book, which comes out this year, I believe. It’s not a perfect series, but it’s certainly an enjoyable one.

4stars

Leave a Reply

