Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Authors I’d Put On My Auto-Buy List

TopTenTuesday

1. J. K. Rowling

How could I not read anything that the creator of Harry Potter comes out with? Of course, I haven’t read The Casual Vacany yet, but I definitely want to, even though it’s apparently vastly different than Harry Potter, especially in terms of adult content.

2. Derek Landy

I love, love, love his Skulduggery Pleasant books. They’re snarky, they’re action-packed, they’re wonderfully UKish (not British, because the author is Irish, I believe, but same basic island and sense of humor!). I don’t think he’s written any other books outside of the series, so it’s possible I would’t enjoy other things as much, but I’d definitely be willing to take a chance on this author.

3. Ally Carter

I love her Heist Society and Gallagher Girls series. Thieves and spies – what’s not to love? She has some out-of-print adult books, if I remember correctly, but I’m not sure I’m going to bother looking for them. I definitely want to check out any and all of her future stuff, though, including and beyond her current series.

4. E. Lockhart

OK, I’m just going to skip repeating how much I love the Ruby Oliver books, since it’s obvious by now. I read another book from Lockhart, The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, and I really didn’t enjoy it all that much, but my love for Ruby Oliver is so great that I still want to read anything new from Lockhart. I think there are also some older books from her that I may have to check out…

5. Libba Bray

Gemma Doyle! Beauty Queens! Yay Libba Bray! I’m still trying to get my hands on The Diviners (darn library never has it in) and I’ve actually never read her second book (technically fourth, but I’m counting Gemma Doyle as one body of work), Going Bovine, but maybe I’ll try it while I’m anxiously awaiting new books from Libba Bray in the future.

6. Kiersten White

I really enjoyed her Paranormalcy series. It wasn’t perfect and certainly had its annoying moments, something that I’m really noticing the older I get, but I enjoyed them all. I plan on reading her new book, Mind Games, as soon as I can, as well as her future stand alone, Chaos of the Stars (I think that’s what it’s called), and unless her books become too over-the-top (Evie’s teenage voice, the romance), I’ll continue checking her books out.

7. Courtney Summers

Just discovered her books (well, I knew about them long before, but just read them) a few months ago, and I read three of her four in the span of a few weeks. They were all painful to read and definitely not happy books, but they were amazing. I still need to read her first book – if that darn library ever gets it! – but I definitely plan on checking out her next book, which unfortunately doesn’t come until 2014.

8. Cynthia Hand

Ooh, I need to read Boundless! I really want to, but I’m buying the books in paperback so I need to borrow it from the library or wait almost a year for it to come out in paperback. Whenever I read it, though, I’ll continue anxiously awaiting her future books as well.

9. Kim Harrington

Her Clarity books weren’t perfect, but they were certainly enjoyable (hope she makes more, but I’m not sure), and I was pleased when I recently (last week, I think) read The Dead and Buried and found that I enjoyed her books even when they didn’t involve physic teenagers! Her next book, which she recently sold, sounds creepy like The Dead and Buried but doesn’t have any supernatural elements, which should be interesting.

10. Stephanie Perkins

I wasn’t as in love with Anna and the French Kiss as most people were (it was good but not amazing), but I really, really liked Lola and the Boy Next Door, so I have high hopes for Isla and the Happy Ever After (I think that’s the title), which comes out this year and needs a cover already!

Sorry, not pictures or fancy fonts this time – computer’s still screwed up and I’d have to turn it off just to upload pictures, which I’m much too lazy to do at the moment. Hey, at least it’s posted!

Leave a Reply

