All the Books (31)

AlltheBooks

BOOKS I’M READING

Blaze

I was excited when I saw this was available at my library’s ebook website thanks to its status as a Debut Book (my first of the year) and an interesting premise, but so far I’m pretty unimpressed with it. The main character, Blaze, loves superheroes but unfortunately also loves slutshaming and general girlshaming as well (even against her own grandmother – she calls her a gossipy bitch to her love interest!). I’m not even halfway done and I’m so fed up with Blaze and ready to see something bad happen to her in hopes that it humbles her and gets her to see the errors of her ways. After listening to her talk about “vagina wedgies” thanks to her “make my butt look good but ride up in the front” new jeans, I’m not sure how much more I can take. And I don’t care if you’re IMing (really, though, does anyone IM anymore – don’t they just FB-message, Tweet, or text?), but know the difference between “your” and “you’re,” you irritating love interest!

BOOKS I’VE READ

Mercy DeadandBuried FeelingSorryforCelia

Three books, three different reactions: boredom and lots of eye-rolling (Mercy); plenty of enjoyment despite figuring out the killer before the main character did (The Dead and Buried); and initial boredom followed by genuine interest and a surprised enjoyment by the end (Feeling Sorry for Celia). So, all in all, not a bad week for reading, although Mercy sure didn’t start things off great and Blaze is making me think that it’s not going to end well either…

BOOKS IN THE READING SHELF

13LittleBlueEnvelopes

I have plenty of other books I can read as well, but right now this is the only book sitting on my shelf that I haven’t read (other than the fifth book in the Gallagher Girls series, and I want to reread the first four books first, so I want to make sure I don’t have anything else new to read before I start them), so this is the only one I know for sure that I want to try to get to in the coming week. I bought it for $1 at a local cheap bookstore, and though my feelings toward Maureen Johnson are confusing at best (I tend to love her secondary characters but hate/feel indifferent toward her main characters), I’m going to go into this book hoping it’s good anyway.

I have a new cover and new books added to my to-read shelf, but my computer is still having issues and I can’t upload them right now, so you’ll (hopefully) get to see them next week. I’ll try to post more this week, but yet again computer issues, general school busy-ness, and a lack of already-written posts just waited has made it difficult. I’ll try to have more than three posts this week, though – hopefully at least four so that it’s more than half the days of a week.

Leave a Reply

