Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favorite Characters in Contemporary

TopTenTuesday

LolaandtheBoyNextDoor Ruby1 Impossible IfIStay TTYL ShesSoMoney SaffysAngel Stay

1. Lola from Lola and the Boy Next Door

It’s been over a year since I read this book and I need to reread it in order to remember everything, but one thing that I definitely do remember is that Lola was quite entertaining to read about. She had an unusual family life but definitely loving parents, and she had a best friend who, though I can’t remember how much she actually showed up, actually didn’t annoy me! Which is unfortunately not always common with YA BFFs, for me anyway.

2. Ruby from the Ruby Oliver Quartet

If you’ve read this blog at all in the past year, and especially during the end-of-the-year lists, then you probably know that I really, really enjoyed the Ruby Oliver Quartet when I read it at the beginning of last year. Ruby was such a great character and I loved reading about her and her adventures and friend and enemies and everyone in between. I have since bought the whole series and plan on rereading it as soon as possible.

3. Lucy from Impossible

This book is one of my favorite books ever, and main character Lucy is partially the reason. She has struggles and has to deal with a crazy family curse while pregnant, but she never lost sight of what she wanted and cared about. I really need to reread this book soon as well.

4. Zach from Impossible

Pretty much the same as Lucy; some of the chapters are from the point of view of Zach as well, which is slightly unusual for young adult since he’s actually a college fresman or sophomore. He’s a good guy – not a bad boy, not a bad boy who’s really not that bad, not a jerk, but a good guy. Young adult needs more good guys.

5. Mia from If I Stay/Where She Went

Yet another book/duology that I need to reread, even if it’ll probably make me cry again. Mia was such an interesting character and it was heartbreaking to see what she had to go through.

6. Adam from If I Stay/Where She Went

Where She Went is more focused on Adam than If I Stay, but he was an interesting character in both books. He really cared about Mia, but his whole life didn’t just revolve around her, so we got the chance to really see who he was outside of Mia, especially in the second book.

7. Maddie/Angela/Zoe from TTYL, etc.

I first read this book in middle school, I think, and I instantly fell in love with the three friends at the center of it all. All three books are written entirely in chat speak (although Zoe’s the type who doesn’t like acronyms and such, much like me), which might be annoying for some readers, but maybe because I read it when I was younger I didn’t care as much, and now I know that the characters and their lives are the driving point of the story for me, regardless of how those stories are told.

8. Maya from She’s So Money

OK, let’s just assume that I need to reread pretty much all of these books, because I definitely want to reread this book. I don’t see it getting a lot of attention in the book review blogosphere, even when it was new (it’s a few years old, can’t remember for sure how many), which makes me sad because it’s really fun and entertaining, and Maya is a big reason. It’s been a couple of years since I reread it a second time, but I remember enjoying it just as much anyway.

9. Casson Family from the Casson Family series

I recently reread the whole series as well as the final book last month, and I was quickly reminded why I love this family so darn much. They’re quirky, they’re British, they’re entertaining – what’s not to love? They’re never quite as amazingly quirky as they are in the first book but they continue to entertain through five books.

10. Clara from Stay

This is another book I reread not too long ago, which reminded me that I really enjoyed reading about Clara and her story. She doesn’t necessarily stand out as much as some of the other characters on this list, but that fits her. Maybe it was because this was the first book I read by Deb Caletti, but of all her books I’ve read so far, Clara is the one who really stands out. I remember some of the other stories easily but the main characters mostly seem to muddle together, but Clara is different.

I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to post this this week (still having some computer issues), but here it is! Now excuse me while I go reread everything…

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favorite Characters in Contemporary

  1. I love YA Contemporary books, but I’ve only read one of the books you listed. Lola and the Boy Next Door is great, but I actually preferred Anna and the French Kiss more. I really want to read the Ruby Oliver books sometime this year, though. Hopefully I make the time 🙂

    1. I think most people loved Anna and the French Kiss more but there was just something about Lola that I liked even more. I loved Ruby Oliver even more, though!

    1. I LOVE Impossible – I’d never heard of “Scarborough Fair” before it but now I think it’s so interesting.
      I haven’t read any of the books that you listed characters from, but I have heard a lot of great things about Graceling…

Leave a Reply

