The Lies That Bind by Lisa and Laura Roecker

LiarSociety2Title: The Liar Society: The Lies That Bind

Author: Lisa and Laura Roecker

Genre: Mystery

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire

Pages: 320

Rating: 3.5/5

Just when Kate Lowry thought she had life at elite private school Pemberly Brown figured out, she cracks open a fortune cookie to find a message from her best friend Grace–who’s supposed to be dead.

Another Sister Gone

A classmate has gone missing, and Kate soon realizes that the disappearance is tied to the secret societies that rule her private school. Her best friend died for their secrets, and there’s no way she’ll let them get away with it twice. It’s up to quirky outsider Kate to get some answers, but in a school where every answer leads to more questions and nothing’s as it seems, who can she trust?

When I initially read the first book in this series, The Liar Society, last year, I really, really liked it. I had minor problems with it but overall enjoyed it. I was really excited to read the second book in the series and bought the first book in order to reread it. The months in between reading the first book and getting to the second book cooled my enjoyment, though, and upon rereading the first book I found more problems with it. It was still an enjoyable enough book to pass the time with, but it was no longer amazing. This book also left me feeling a tad underwhelmed.

The exploration of the secret societies continues in this book, but things are becoming more unbelievable. A classmate who’s kidnapped, yet no one will go to the Brotherhood-loving police, even an adult; a secret passageway that goes through the school itself and was built recently, which means it was built at night just so students didn’t know about it; and plenty of other issues that apparently only our protagonist can investigate and solve. Fiction always involves a little bit of suspended belief, but in a supposedly-realistic-fiction book such as this, I don’t think I should have to suspend my belief that much.

There’s also plenty of over-the-top teen speak, stereotypical characters, flimsy, barely-characterized characters, and relationship drama. A little can be alright, but all of these things, combined and multiplied many times over, can make it difficult to fully enjoy the book without rolling my eyes too much or feeling like I shouldn’t enjoy the book at all because of its failings.

And one of the biggest things I hated about this book was that it ended on a minor cliffhanger that makes me want to read the final book in the series to see what happens. Yes, after all my complaints, I want to see how everything ends. These books are not great literature, but I think they’re decent enough to pass the time with.

3.5stars

Leave a Reply

