Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Most Frustrating Characters Ever

 

TopTenTuesday

Slide ForestsofHandsandTeeth BodyFinder HowtoDitchYourFairy Frost Starling Mothership ProphecyoftheSisters SomeoneElsesLife MatchMadeinHighSchool

1. Vee (Slide)

One of my main problems with Slide was the main character, Vee. She hated the popular people, including her younger sister, and believed she was above it all thanks to her I-hate-pink-black-is-the-way-to-go attitude. It was hard to feel sympathetic to a girl who was so incredibly judgmental of pretty much everyone she knew, especially when she “slid” into them and saw what they were doing. She also wasn’t too bright when it came to the main mystery of the book so I was constantly frustrated with the fact that she couldn’t figure out what the heck was going on.

2. Mary (The Forest of Hands and Teeth)

I read this a couple of years ago, but even now I remember not being a fan of the protagonist, Mary. She was in a bit of a love square (she was in love with her fiancé’s brother, who was engaged to her best friend), and she was so obsessed with the ocean. This might not seem like a big deal, but I think it really started to annoy me by the end of the book. Overall, though, I just didn’t care for Mary at all, which made the book a little difficult to get through.

3. Violet (The Body Finder)

In the first book, Violet wasn’t very interesting, but I don’t think she really frustrated me as much. In the second book, though, I remember wanting to slap Violet a few times, when I wasn’t bored to tears with reading about her life. At this point I don’t remember much about her anymore, but I do remember that I was not a fan of Violet, especially with the second book’s relationship drama and her moping period during it.

4. Charlie (How to Ditch Your Fairy)

Charlie was, like many (or most) of the protagonists on this list, a large factor in my dislike of her book. She was very immature and irritating, to the point where I was shocked that anyone wanted to be friends with her, let alone a possible love interest, who she was always mentally insulting and judging him. I didn’t care about Charlie “ditching her fairy,” and I was frustrated when, despite people’s warnings, people warned her against switching fairies with the Boy Fairy girl, yet she, of course, didn’t listen. Maybe she was just too young for me – she was apparently 14 – but I feel like it shouldn’t have been a problem with a YA book.

5. Leena (Frost)

I expected a haunted house book, but instead I got a book about a girl who seemed to have mental problems, and if she wasn’t, she was much too frustrating to deal with. I had trouble even beginning to like this book because I was too busy getting frustrated with Leena. I wasn’t too surprised when her friends had trouble remaining friends with her.

6. Mason (Starling)

Since I wrote this review fairly recently, I remember how much Mason irritated me. She was judgmental, especially of other girls (well, the only other girl in the book who got a name, if I remember correctly) and her middle brother. I didn’t like her, so I didn’t care about her romantic problems or magical problems.

7. Elvie (Mothership)

I’ve heard some people say that Elvie was refreshing entertaining and hilarious, but I tended to the opposite reaction – Elvie and her trying-to-hard-to-be-a-hip-teen slang was more irritating than endearing. I enjoyed the story enough, but I sometimes had trouble slugging through all her commentary and judgments. I hope she’ll mellow out in the second book, but for now she’s one of my main problems with the series.

8. Lia (The Prophecy of the Sisters)

Now, in the first book of this trilogy, I was a fan of Lia, although I think I kind of preferred her twin sister, Alice, even then. By the second book, she was beginning to irritate me, and by the last book I just wanted Alice to win and get the series over with. I can’t quite remember what irritated me so much about her, but I know my problems with her only increased as the series went on.

9. Rosie and Holly (Someone Else’s Life)

Like Mothership, I enjoyed this story despite mostly disliking the protagonist (in this case, there were kind of two, but I don’t want to spoil too much). Both girls seemed uninteresting and irritating, but I cared about the secondary characters and the story enough to mostly enjoy this story.

10. Fiona (A Match Made in High School)

I had heard great things about this comical book, but no one else seemed to share my dislike of Fiona, the main character. Yes, the story is quite funny and fluffy fun, but Fiona just got on my nerves most of the time. She was a bit oblivious, judgmental (I feel like I’m a tad too judgmental myself to point this out as a flaw that I dislike so much, but I’m only human), and likely to hold grudges. If this book had had a more enjoyable protagonist then I would have liked it even more.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Most Frustrating Characters Ever

  1. I will totally agree with you on Violet. I was ok with her in the first book, but grew to completely dislike her in the second. I have no plans to read any more in that series. While I was not a big fan of Elvie’s name, I did not find her to be frustrating. I hope for your sake that she does mellow because I think that this is going to be a quirky and fun series.

    1. Yeah, I’m definitely done with the Body Finder series, but my annoyance with Elvie didn’t prevent me from enjoying the quirkiness of the first book, so I definitely plan on continuing it as long as the story itself is interesting.

    1. Yes, Mary was just too frustrating to deal with. By the end of the book I was so done with her, and I was practically rooting for the zombies and anyone else who wasn’t Mary.

      I’m glad you liked reading it! I checked out yours as well, and even though I haven’t read all of the books you included characters from, I did kind of agree with Etienne – he was definitely flip-flopping a lot and not my favorite person. A bit funny and quirky, but needed to figure out who he liked. I preferred Cricket from Lola and the Boy Next Door…

Leave a Reply

