New Reads: Rewind Edition (2)

NewReadsRewind

FeelingSorryforCelia 13LittleBlueEnvelopes

Feeling Sorry for Celia by Jaclyn Moriarty

This book is by an Australian author (I need to read more non-American authors, thus the appeal) and sounded quirky, and that’s really all it took for me to decide to try it out. I’ve heard a little bit about the author, and it all seemed good, so I figure it was worth it to check out this book. It involves an absent father, a disappearing friend (not literally, it’s contemporary), a mother who communicates through “wacky messages” on the refrigerator, and a pen pal, if I recall correctly. In general it sounds like a interesting, quirky little story. I just got it at the library, in fact, so I plan on reading this soon.

13 Little Blue Envelopes by Maureen Johnson

Maureen Johnson is a difficult author for me – I can never quite figure out whether I like her or not. I think she can write some pretty interesting stories (the wacky family in Suite Scarlett) but her main characters rarely interest me. A lot of reviewers seem to like her, though, and this early book from her seemed like it might have promise, so when I saw it for $1 (!!!) at a second-hand bookstore, I decided I might as well check it out and see if it’s any good. It involves a scavenger hunt-like adventure around Europe, so how could I not at least check it out?

Ice BeforeIFall

Ice by Sarah Beth Durst

I love fairy tales, so I don’t know why I don’t read more fairy tale retellings – maybe I’m worried they’ll suck and ruin my feelings about fairy tales? Anyway, I think this is based on a story called East of the Sun and West of the Moon, or something along those lines. The original involves a prince/handsome dude under a curse and a girl forced to marry him before realizing he’s actually beautiful by looking at him when she’s not supposed to, which sets her off on a quest to save him. I don’t know how similar this version will be, but there are already many different versions of the story, and based on how pleasantly surprised I was with Durst’s Drink, Slay, Love, I have tentatively hopeful hopes (I know, redundant) for this book.

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

I know I keep including this on lists of books I’ve been meaning to get around to, but I don’t feel like it’s gotten as much focus as some others. All I really know about this book is that it gives the main character a chance to relive her last day or days before she dies, perhaps multiple days, and that it’s apparently amazing and heart-breaking. I’ve also heard some good things about Oliver’s dystopian trilogy (mostly really good things about her second book and mixed things about the first), so I kind of what to check it out, but only if I like this book.

SixRulesofMaybe ExtraordinarySecretsofAprilMayJune

The Six Rules of Maybe by Deb Caletti

It’s Deb Caletti, enough said. OK, I’ll say a little more beyond the fact that it’s by an author for whom I’m trying to read all her books. It involves a girl whose sister randomly returns with a baby and a husband, whom the main character ends up falling for. It sounds messy and interesting and family-centric, which sounds like a book for me.

The Extraordinary Secrets of April, May, & June by Robin Benway

I wasn’t overly impressed with Benway’s debut, Audrey, Wait!, but everyone else seems to love it and I thought a future book of hers sounds possibly interesting, so I decided I should check out her second book and see what I think of it. I don’t think I’m a big fan of the cover, but it’s about sisters with magical powers or something, so at least the story sounds like it has some promise.

EnchantedIvy Mercy

Enchanted Ivy by Sarah Beth Durst

This is another book by Durst, and one that I actually checked out from the library on a whim but never read. It sounded interesting enough, but it also sounded like it could be too typical, so I just never bothered reading it. After I Liked Drink, Slay, Love, though, I decided to give this book a second shot (or a first shot, really, since I never actually started it). It involves magical creatures at Princeton or something like that, if I recall correctly, so hopefully it’ll be another pleasant surprise.

Mercy by Rebecca Lim

I saw this on a book blog and decided it sounded slightly interesting, if I recall correctly. It’s an angel book, which there weren’t as many of when I first heard of it, so I thought it could be interesting. Now that I’ve read the first two books in the Unearthly trilogy, I doubt it’ll be the best angel book I’ve ever read, but I think it has the potential to at least be a decent book anyway. Yay for decent books, they seem much too rare at times!

Leave a Reply

