Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

ShatterMeTitle: Shatter Me

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Genre: Paranormal

Publisher: Harper

Pages: 338

Rating: 4.5/5

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war– and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

(note: this was originally a mini-review, thus its shortness)

I wasn’t really sure what to expect with this book. At first I didn’t plan on reading it at all because it sounded like a typical dystopian debut from last year, but I heard some good reviews and decided to risk it. I’m glad I did – I really enjoyed it, from its overly descriptive language to its interestingly twisted villain. Looking back a few months later, I’m not sure I care as much about the central romance as I did while reading it, and some parts, like the world, seemed a bit underdeveloped, but I think it was a good debut and I can’t wait to read the second book. And, while I didn’t know what to think about the new cover at first, now I love it, especially compared with the plain, stereotypical pretty-girl-in-a-dress original cover.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

4 thoughts on “Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Leave a Reply

