So Silver Bright by Lisa Mantchev

SoSilverBrightTitle: So Silver Bright

Author: Lisa Mantchev

Genre: Fantasy

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Pages: 354

Rating: 4.5/5

All Beatrice Shakespeare Smith has ever wanted is a true family of her own. And she’s close to reuniting her parents when her father disappears. Now Bertie must deal with a  vengeful sea goddess and a mysterious queen as she tries to keep her family – and the Theatre Illuminata – from crumbling. To complicate it all, Bertie is torn between her two loves, Ariel and Nate.

This is the last book in Mantchev’s Théâtre Illuminata trilogy, which means I’m sad to see it end even though I wanted to read this book. I kind of put it off for a while – this book came out last year, I believe, but I just now got around to reading it. Like the previous books, there are confusing bits to it, but it manages to be magical enough to make me forget about all of that, even when some of the end made me kind of sad. Plus, how could someone not enjoy a book that involves troublemaking little fairies?

I don’t want to say too much about this book so as not to give anything away, but I was satisfied with how it all ended. Like I said, some parts made me sad, but it made sense based on the characters and the story up until the end. I don’t know if this is a spoiler or not, so be wary, but it was great to return to the Théâtre Illuminata for the group’s last adventure. The series also managed to retain the magical qualities, although sometimes I felt like it might have gone slightly over the top and confused me rather than immerse me in the story fully. Of course, there was plenty that the book did well that I was able to forget about my confusion for the most part.

I figure I should talk about the love triangle that’s at the center of the story first. This series does a great job of balancing the two men in the triangle for the readers. It’s not obvious from the beginning whom Bertie is going to choose. Even though (spoiler for previous books) she was willing to go however far it took to get Nate back, she wasn’t able to keep Ariel out of her mind. Personally I think I may have been leaning toward Bertie choosing Ariel, every time she interacted with Nate I found myself kind of rooting for them. Although sometimes it seemed like she wasn’t doing the best job of juggling the two boys, for the most part it didn’t seem like Bertie was just stringing one or both of them along. I’m not going to say what her final decision is in the end, but, as I said earlier, based on the characters and the story lines thus far, it made sense.

I’m sad to see this series end. Even when I was left confused I found myself ignoring any questions I had and just wanting to find out what was to come. It was a good blend of fantasy and humor, always leaving me guessing as to whether this was a completely made-up fantasy world or one just like our own, only more magical. Even though Mantchev doesn’t have any more books out yet, I know I’ll pick up anything she writes in the future.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

One thought on “So Silver Bright by Lisa Mantchev

Leave a Reply

