Hallowed by Cynthia Hand

HallowedTitle: Hallowed

Author: Cynthia Hand

Genre: Angel/Paranormal

Publisher: HarperTeen

Pages: 403

Rating: 4.5/5

For months part-angel Clara Gardner trained to face the raging forest fire from her visions and rescue the alluring and mysterious Christian Prescott from the blaze. But nothing could prepare her for the fateful decisions she would be forced to make that day, or the startling revelation that her purpose—the task she was put on earth to accomplish—is not as straightforward as she thought.

Now, torn between her increasingly complicated feelings for Christian and her love for her boyfriend, Tucker, Clara struggles to make sense of what she was supposed to do the day of the fire. And, as she is drawn further into the world of part angels and the growing conflict between White Wings and Black Wings, Clara learns of the terrifying new reality that she must face: Someone close to her will die in a matter of months. With her future uncertain, the only thing Clara knows for sure is that the fire was just the beginning.

Before I talk about the book itself, I’m going to talk about the biggest problem I had with it: the synopsis. Like the official summary for the first book, this doesn’t make me want to read the book, and certainly doesn’t give the reader a good idea about the awesomeness of the book. It sounds like a typical YA book with a boring love triangle that takes up too much of the focus of the book. Even though I loved the first book, I was still slightly hesitant to read this book just because the synopsis sounded uninteresting. Luckily, just like I did the first time, I ignored it and read the book anyway, and loved it.

I thought this was a great continuation of the first book. It took the characters I had grown to love in the first book and gave them more adventures. It answered some questions I had left over from the first book while giving some more questions for the next, and last, book of the trilogy. It took the simple synopsis and turned it into a great book that had been crying at parts and smiling at others. I’m especially glad that, even when I thought I saw something coming early on, Hand came up with a way to twist it or make it more complex than I expected. The biggest example of this was the person who died – I figured out who it was earlier on than Clara seemed to, which kind of disappointed me, but then Hand through in a twist about it that made it more emotional and allowed me not to care that I already knew about it.

This was a great second book for a trilogy. It didn’t seem solely like a stepping stone between the first and third book. It managed to build things up for the finale of the series without seeming like it was just building things up. I can’t wait to read the last book, although I’ll also be sad to say good-bye to these characters and this world.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

3 thoughts on “Hallowed by Cynthia Hand

Leave a Reply

